ONE NATION UNDER GOD

ONE NATION UNDER GOD

2Chr. 7:14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

A number of years ago I became fixated on the Great Awakening. I had obviously known about it for years but had never really connected the dots between the birth of our nation and the revival that swept the colonies from 1734 – 1775. In 1734 revival fire fell at the church in Northampton, Massachusetts pastored by Jonathan Edwards. It spread throughout the Connecticut Valley and gained momentum through the likes of George Whitefield. Thousands of colonists were born again and thirteen rebellious colonies literally became “One Nation Under God”. Three hundred years have come and gone and the spiritual foundations of America are in disrepair. We are in desperate need for another Great Awakening least we lose our spiritual heritage.
About ten years ago I was able to visit Mount Vernon, the home of our first President, George Washington. I will never forget my feelings of profound humility and the sense of destiny when I looked at his tomb. Over his body are the words of Jesus from scripture, “I am the resurrection and the life, he that believe to on Me shall live even if he dies”. I was face to face with what my heart always knew, The Lord was responsible for the founding of this nation. Here is a simple prayer written by George Washington.

“O eternal and everlasting God, I presume to present myself this morning before thy Divine majesty, beseeching thee to accept of my humble and hearty thanks…
Increase my faith in the sweet promises of the gospel; give me repentance from dead works; pardon my wanderings, and direct my thoughts unto thyself, the God of my salvation; teach me how to live in thy fear, labor in thy service, and ever to run in the ways of thy commandments; make me always watchful over my heart, that neither the terrors of conscience, the loathing of holy duties, the love of sin, nor an unwillingness to depart this life, may cast me into a spiritual slumber, but daily frame me more and more into the likeness of thy son Jesus Christ, that living in thy fear, and dying in thy favor, I may in thy appointed time attain the resurrection of the just unto eternal life bless my family, friends, and kindred.”

Wow! How long has it been since we have heard these kinds of words from our political leaders? Our country stands in need of another visitation of the same magnitude that birthed America in the 1700’s. I believe it will happen, I believe it has to happen. Jesus is called the Author and the Finisher, the first and the last, and in Revelation, the Alpha and the Omega. He has surely saved His best for last. Come quickly Lord Jesus.

6 Responses to “ONE NATION UNDER GOD”

  1. Thompson, Ophelia Says:

    Amen.

  2. Ray Flick Says:

    Read 2 Chronicles 7: 11-16 Bless be God forever !

  3. Randy Scott Says:

    What a blessing to be able to see these writings on our first predsidents tomb! It sure is a far cry to what our nation has come to over the years, even in our lifetime we are seeing things that we never thought we would see and its called the normal! evil is now called good and good is called evil, our nation needs to repent and be restored, If our nation continues it will face judgement, but if it comes back it would be blessed, I pray for revival amoung His people and a change of heart with our leaders, any nation that forsakes God will suffer for doing that, any nation that seeks Him will prosper and walk in His ways

  4. kevin falgoust Says:

    Yes Lord, come our King Of Kings, Lord of Lords, Omega, Rock and Alpha. Amen. Awesome prayer….

  5. David Leal Says:

    We’re in judgement ! That one verse gives us the answer now repent

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

