CONTENT

CONTENT

Brothers, each man, as responsible to God, should remain in the situation God called him to. 1 Corinthians 7:24

Contentment is quite elusive. The aged Apostle Paul said from his imprisonment in Rome that he had learned the secret. He had learned to be content in whatever circumstance he found himself in. He was happy with plenty and he was happy with little. What was his secret? Here it is, “But whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ”. Did you see it? It is the value of knowing Christ. Everything else pales in comparison. Here is Luther’s comments on today’s verse.

“Everyone has a calling in life. Believers serve God when they whole-heartedly take care of these responsibilities. An official who governs well serves God. A mother who cares for her children, a father who goes to work, and a student who studies diligently are all servants of God. Many overlook this God-pleasing lifestyle because they consider simple, day-to-day work insignificant. They look instead for other work that seems more difficult and end up becoming disobedient to God. God requires that believers work hard at their callings without worrying about what anyone else is doing. Yet few people do this. A poet who reflected on what people are like once said, ‘The farmer would like to be a shopkeeper, and the shopkeeper a farmer’. Few people are satisfied with their lives. The person in the pew wants to be a member of the clergy. The student wishes to be the teacher. The citizen wants to be mayor. Few people are content with their callings. However, there is no other way to serve God except simply living by faith, sticking to your calling, and maintaining a clear conscience.”

You see, the natural man of this world judges himself, his worth, and his happiness by his perception of what he does with his life. Is he a student, a professor, a business man, an athlete, or maybe a rock star? Each one of these carries some sort of stigma or mark of importance and, in the world’s view, success and importance. Paul had been there and done that. He remembered bragging about his tribal connection, his status as Pharisee, his tutelage under the famed Gamaliel, even his Roman citizenship. By the time he was jailed in Rome those bragging days were far gone. Where had they gone? They were swept away by Paul’s revelation of true importance found in his calling as a Christian. You may be a banker, a seamstress, a poet or a king. You may be a superstar athlete or a sanitation engineer, but none of these things determine who you really. These are not the source of your joy or your identity. Contentment is found in the preciousness of embracing the calling to know and love Him.

5 Responses to “CONTENT”

  1. Ray Flick Says:

    There is no other way to serve God except simply living by faith, sticking to your calling, and maintaining a clear conscience . For whatever is not faith is sin. the righteous shall live by faith .

    • Ray Flick Says:

      Dear God , Help us to live by faith, that thru our walk with You our faith will increase . Cause us to be sensitive to the Holy Spirit that we will know Your calling for our lives and maintain a clear conscience. For this is true contentment !

  2. ray Says:

    Amen! Help me Lord in my new profession to know you more. It’s not about my title but who the author is!

  3. Jeannot Plessy Says:

    Amen!! After I got saved I remember fasting and praying and pleading with God to show me what He wanted me to DO for Him. Hahaha and He said to me very clearly, “Just live.” Well, simple as that answer seemed to me at the time I have and am growing to know everyday what that means. He wants me to abide in Him and let His life be my life, my burdens His burdens, my desires, His desires…my very breath to be His breath. He wants me to experience His presence and His nearness every moment on this earth, He wants me to enjoy this “abundant life”. Now, I ask you, is there anything more amazingly satisying and glorious than to “just live” the christian life? And to make it more incredible…He gives me opportunities every day to shine His light…Yes I am “just living” my life and aint it grand!!!???? Thank you Pastor Frank for givng me such an incredible foundation in Christ…life is good!!!

  4. kevin falgoust Says:

    Hallelujah, I’m all yours Lord I yield to you. Move me Holy Spirit. My helper , Guider and Teacher. Breath your life into me. It’s all yours including me I carry my cross to you.. I Love you. Blessings Pastor Frank.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,743 other followers

