SPIRITUAL SECRETS

SPIRITUAL SECRETS!

Merry Monday by Parris Bailey-

“Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again: But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.” John 4:13

I would like to think that we all are on an ever increasing spiritual journey. Some Christians find themselves shipwrecked over an offense, heartbreak, or just because they were enticed by the things of this world. But for others, I pray that everyday becomes one step closer in your love walk with the Lord. I have a few books that I regard as my personal treasures. One of them is “HUDSON’S TAYLOR’S SPIRITUAL SECRET”. This book is special because first of all it was the first biography I read as a young Christian at 16. After reading Hudson’s story it became Frank’s and my passion that we would embark to China to live there, instead we embarked to New Orleans! HA! Twenty years later in ’94, I found myself again reading his life’s story, but this time I understood his spiritual secret. Now that I am older I find myself “thankful” that he has taught me to “count it all joy” when the bottom falls out of my life. Let’s read Hudson’s spin on his hardships,
“What, can Jesus meet my need? Yes, and more than meet it. No matter how intricate my path, how difficult my service; no matter how sad my bereavement, how far away my loved ones; no matter how helpless I am, how deep are my soul-yearnings-Jesus can meet all, all, and more than meet. He not only promises me rest-ah, how welcome that would be, were it all, and what an all that one word embraces! He not only promises me drink to alleviate my thirst. No, better than that! ‘He who trusts Me in this matter, out of him shall flow’….”
Taylor lived in China during a horrible time in history and was able to “live by faith”, and start the CHINA INLAND MISSION where hundreds if not thousands of missionaries were able to pour into China before the communist takeover. But it cost him everything.
He lost children and lastly he lost his wife, let’s read what he wrote to his mother: “From my inmost soul I delight in the knowledge that God does or permits all things, and causes all things to work together for good to those who love Him. He saw that it was good to take her-good indeed for her, and in His love he took her painlessly-and not less good for me who now must toil and suffer alone, yet not alone, for God is nearer to me than ever. When I think of my loss, my heart, nigh to breaking, rises to thankfulness to Him who has spared her such sorrow and made her so unspeakably happy. My tears are more tears of joy than grief. But most of all I joy in God through our Lord Jesus Christ-in His works, His ways, His providence, Himself.”
I pray that before you find yourself shipwrecked that you realize God has a beautiful plan!

5 Responses to “SPIRITUAL SECRETS”

  1. Larry Faust Says:

    I was privileged to hear a sermon by one of the heads of the underground church in China, His great grandfather was saved through Hudson Taylor’s ministry and became a pastor. His grandfather became a pastor, his dad became a pastor, and now he is a pastor.
    When we sow seeds of faith (like Hudson Taylor did) the impact can reach and change lives for generations of people. Though his ministry cost him so very much (the death of his wife and children in China) he and his family planted spiritual seed that are still bearing much fruit for the kingdom of God. What a legacy brother Taylor has, and it is still growing today.

  2. mimi crabtree Says:

    WOW is all I can say! I love Him so much!

  3. Zinnia Andara Says:

    wow wow wow!! Thank you Jesus for my life!!

  4. Randy Scott Says:

    Things alot of times dont work out the way we would like them to work out, may be its past our understanding but its ok, all things work out according to his will if we stay close to him, He has it under control, no matter what, we may not always understand, lots of times we dont. Our Lord does and He can see the beginning and end of things that we cant see, so maqny are no longer walking with him because instead of trusting they got bitter when a loved one died or something else bad happened, bad things do happen its how we allow the Lord in durin g gut wrenching hard times, do we allow Him to comfort us? heal us? lead us anyway or do we hold on to it? we can suffer but let him control the situation in us, we will all suffer at some point, but we will never stay in that state, If we beleive the Lord to help us handle it. He is a friend that sticks closer to us than a brother.

  5. mark Says:

    Philippians 3:8-11 just jumps up and down as I read this devotion. When we know Jesus to the point that nothing is a close second, then we might get a glimpse of what Paul meant in this passage and what Hudson meant in his letter to his mother.
    Philippians 3:8-11:
    8 More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ, 9 and may be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own derived from the Law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which comes from God on the basis of faith, 10 that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death; 11 in order that I may attain to the resurrection from the dead.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 407 other followers

