MARGARITAVILLE

Margaritaville, Bourbon Street, and Surprised by Joy

Thou shalt call his name Jesus.
Matthew 1:21

We have been having worship services all this week. For the rest of the world it is Mardi Gras week; not for us. At Victory Fellowship, it is our Winter Worship Experience. We have been having saturation services and participating in our live worship recording called Heavenward. Nothing beats a service given over to extended worship, it is actually as close as we could ever come to heaven this side of the rapture.
I have come to the conclusion that all of us spend our lives in the pursuit of joy. For some, their version of joy is being lost in margaritaville. Others may think their pleasures would be complete at the strip joints on Bourbon Street. Still others search for their version of joy with another trip to the beach or a quick get away to the Smokey Mountains. For me, I have been surprised by finding joy in my life in the most unexpected of all places. My joy has been made full as I have discovered the pleasures of God lost in worshipping our amazing God. Actually this experience of worship has caused me to redefine worship, I call it the act of enjoying God. Here is a quote of a fellow worshipper by the name of Charles Spurgeon.

“But if there be one name sweeter than another in the believer’s ear, it is the name of Jesus. Jesus! it is the name which moves the harps of heaven to melody. Jesus! the life of all our joys. If there be one name more charming, more precious than another, it is this name. It is woven into the very warp and woof of our psalmody. Many of our hymns begin with it, and scarcely any, that are good for anything, end without it. It is the sum total of all delights. It is the music with which the bells of heaven ring; a song in a word; an ocean for comprehension, although a drop for brevity; a matchless oratorio in two syllables; a gathering up of the hallelujahs of eternity in five letters. Jesus, I love thy charming name”

Spurgeon is describing a harmony that comes to those who have found their joy in God. They have put down their strife, anger, and depression; they have taken up the songs of joy that have brought harmony and completion to their lives. Have you ever been surprised by joy? Joy seems for most to be “somewhere over the rainbow”, something we wish for, but never actually receive. You may think your joy will be found when you win the lottery, catch the prized fish, or finally get that Harley you have always wanted. For the bowler it the perfect score, the golfer looks for the elusive hole in one, or the hunter that prize buck. What a surprise when you discover the greatest of all joys is found in worship!! Who would have ever dreamed to look there, the most unexpected of places, extreme joy found in the Presence of God.

One Response to “MARGARITAVILLE”

  1. KEVIN FALGOUST Says:

    O, how I love that precious, wonderful name, Jesus. How I love to Worship Him. Always loved music, Holy Holy the Great I AM.
    Well just to let you know Pastor Frank, I was looking for that perfect score when I was bowling and got it 4 times, 300.
    When I did bowl the perfect games, I was satisfied for a while because of all the people patting me applauding me and watching me as I threw the last ball, and completed all the squares with strikes across the score board. Well I don’t know what happen I had a hunger for bowling but when I done it all it got boring and didn’t enjoy it anymore. Bowled almost over half of my life, maybe more. Searching for something more as I grew up and got older, just didn’t know what it was. Anyway, to make a long story short, I have found what I have been searching for all my life and its not the king of bowling pins. It’s the Great King of Kings, my Jesus. I make strikes all day long with Him, He’s PERFECT. What a Joy He Is. Have blessed day. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

