UPHOLDS ALL THINGS

UPHOLDS ALL THINGS

Heb. 1:3 who being the brightness of His glory and the express image of His person, and upholding all things by the word of His power, when He had by Himself purged our sins, sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high,

This is one of the great mysteries of the Bible, Paul called it the mystery of godliness. How could a man have so much authority and power. If you remember, just after Christ was raised from the dead, He said all authority had been given to Him in heaven and on earth. That is quite a statement. You see, Jesus had all authority in eternity past, but now everything was different, Jesus had become a man. He was not just a man but was the second Adam. He actually represents all of mankind by His humanity. When He said all authority had been given to Him, He was saying that as a man He was now given authority and power over all things. Here is how Albert Barnes describes it.

“And upholding all things by the word of his power – That is, by his powerful word, or command. The phrase ” word of his power” is a Hebraism, and means his efficient command. There could not be a more distinct ascription of divinity to the Son of God than this. He upholds or sustains all things – that is, the universe. It is not merely the earth; not only its rocks, mountains, seas, animals and human beings, but it is the universe – all distant worlds. How can he do this who is not God? He does it by his word – his command. What a conception! That one simple command should do all this! So the world was made when God ” spake and it was done; he commanded and it stood fast;” Psa 33:9. So the Lord Jesus commanded the waves and the winds, and they were still Mat 8:26-27; so he spoke to diseases and they departed. I do know how people can ” explain away” this ascription of infinite power to the Redeemer. There can be no higher idea of omnipotence than to say that he upholds all things by his word; and assuredly he who can ” hold up” this vast universe so that it does not sink into anarchy or into nothing, must be God. The same power Jesus claimed for himself; see Mat 28:18.”

He upholds all things!!! That includes you and me. He upholds my health, my ministry, my finances, and my family. Not only does He hold the planets in their orbits, assigns the stars their place in the universe, He has His hand on the reigns of my life. He is orchestrating all things for His pleasure and my good. My past is in His hands, my today is in His hand, and He is already holding all of my tomorrows in His hand. So today I can rest, Jesus is on His throne and He has my interests in His heart.

One Response to “UPHOLDS ALL THINGS”

  1. KEVIN FALGOUST Says:

    Hallelujah, its all His, EVERYTHING. One day I was walking through my yard with my dogs, and I was just looking around up in the sky, looking over to the levee that holds the powerful water and looking at the trees and the rose bushes in my yard, so amazed at how a rose bush can have so many parts on it, the thorns, the stem, the leaves, the roses, how it buds to make a rose, the root to get it started I was just in awe Praising Him that morning as the dogs did what they had to do the next thing that popped in my head was a wall. I’m standing there in my yard and I thought of the wall in my house with a door. You can enter the door on your own whenever you want or knock the wall down whenever you want and get out of the house , I was standing there He said think about the wall, I said ok. The wall, the crust of the earth. It belongs to me there is no door except Him and there is no where to hide. You can’t get out or just slide by like a slick person. Made me realize just how Powerfully, Wonderfully, Fearfully He really Is. Obey my commands or else. What a loving LORD we have. The Wall, the Crust, the Earth, its all His. No getting out. Have a blessed and wonderful day Pastor Frank, with LOVE

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

