CALLED OUT

Called out

1 Cor. 1:9 God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of His Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.

Paul loved to talk about his calling. If you listen carefully to what Paul says, it becomes impossible to separate his calling as an apostle from his calling to be a Christian. To Paul, they were one and the same. He was separated from his birth for the purposes of God, there was no backup plan for Paul. From the encounter on the Damascus road to the revival days at Antioch, and even to his imprisonment and death, to Paul, it was all about God’s call upon his life. The power and center of this calling was fellowship or intimacy with God. This is the common bond we Christians share, we have fellowship with Christ that leads us to a place of community with all other Christians. We are bound together by our mutual calling. Actually that is the root meaning of the greek word for church, ecclesia, it means the called out ones. John Wright Follette spoke powerfully about this calling, listen to his words.

“I hear God call to taste His heavenly power.” Paul says that we are called unto a fellowship. As a rule, people think of God’s call as merely a call to heaven, but here we find a call to fellowship which precedes heaven. This fellowship is a phase of life right here and now on earth, and is for a specific and necessary reason. It is a relationship established by God and it deepens and comes into maturity as one yields to the demands and requirements laid down for its realization. It reaches past the external life of sense. Many hear God call them from sin and from the world, but I am not now speaking of that call. I speak of a call that comes more definitely to the Christian after the initial steps of salvation, of water baptism, and of Baptism with the Spirit. It reaches the ocean floor of the heart – the seat of desire and motives and the veiled recesses of selfhood. This call reaches the more subtle form of the ego. It gets at the real person. God longs to bring the soul into a conscious relationship with Himself as fire. Fire does so many things – it cleanses, frees, reduces, refines. The fire is heavenly and must be so, since no natural force or process planned by man can accomplish the necessary miracle. It demands all of our life.”

Follette has captured the true purpose of our calling and the purpose of the church. We are called to enjoy God, we are called to enjoy God together. From the first moments of Paul’s conversion The Lord brought new people into Paul’s life. He spoke a powerful prophetic word to a reluctant Ananias; “Lord, do you know what this guy has done?”, in order to bring Paul into the “fellowship” of the young church.
Our calling is powerful. It is the very focus of our Christianity. So get over it, you are called to be part of His church.

2 Responses to “CALLED OUT”

  1. KEVIN FALGOUST Says:

    HALLELUJAH, I can remember when I had that fright of my calling.He was calling me for a while and was always scared because I didn’t understand how things worked. But now I know the purpose of it. Always was afraid that I would get killed or put away like a lot of the Christians did back then.But now I know I have the POWER of God with me and in me and I’m not afraid anymore, after all He did raise Jesus from dead, so why wouldn’t He lift me up also.ha. I remember standing in Church one Sunday As I was worshipping, He
    told me that. Who should I have to fear when I have the main all powerful God behind me. Glory to Him, I boast in Him. I can remember when I didn’t want nothing to do with that. Ha, When I got baptized in prison all of that started to change on 02-14-02. Never been the same man since. Struggled for a while back in forth, but He was working with me and ii n me the whole time. I would start reading my Bible and quit. And fall, He would pick me up again and tell me go get back in the word, would start, some reason I fell again, ha why was this? He would say Kevin go get back in the word, so I did. As I opened my Bible one day I came across Mark 4:13-20. Sat there and I remember Him saying plant your seed in the soil not in rocky places, not in weeds so it can grow and prosper and not get smothered out I said to myself wow, that’s why I keep falling, I need Him daily, every morning, all day every second. Well I never been the same man since, I have a new nice coat that fits me well that my Father gave me get up at 6:00am in the morning and meet Him at the mountain like Moses did. Matter of fact He wakes me in the morning and says hey go get in your Bible. Never have fallen out since, its a Joy to get up and spend time with my Father, my Jesus, and my Holy Ghost. Life is awesome now, I live to worship and acknowledge Him all the days of my Life. What a transformation He can put on someone, ha, thank you for all the help Holy Spirit, my teacher. With lots of Love, if we didn’t have any Love we are Bankrupt, thank you Jesus, for your LOVE in me…Blessings Pastor Frank, all of you all are in my prayers daily. ;) It’s by His Grace and Mercy that I am where I am. I’m so excited and Love to study His Word. Best Book I ever read. Love the Author, how can anyone read a man made book with different authors and past this wonderful Book up. Thank you, Jesus, I love your Presence.. :)

  2. KEVIN FALGOUST Says:

    HALLELUJAH, I can remember when I had that fright of my calling.He was calling me for a while and was always scared because I didn’t understand how things worked. But now I know the purpose of it. Always was afraid that I would get killed or put away like a lot of the Christians did back then.But now I know I have the POWER of God with me and in me and I’m not afraid anymore,d after all He did raise Jesus from dead, so why wouldn’t He lift me up also.ha. I remember standing in Church one Sunday As I was worshipping, He
    told me that. Who should I have to fear when I have the main all powerful God behind me. Glory to Him, I boast in Him. I can remember when I didn’t want nothing to do with that. Ha, When I got baptized in prison all of that started to change on 02-14-02. Never been the same man since. Struggled for a while back in forth, but He was working with me and ii n me the whole time. I would start reading my Bible and quit. And fall, He would pick me up again and tell me go get back in the word, would start, some reason I fell again, ha why was this? He would say Kevin go get back in the word, so I did. As I opened my Bible one day I came across Mark 4:13-20. Sat there and I remember Him saying plant your seed in the soil not in rocky places, not in weeds so it can grow and prosper and not get smothered out I said to myself wow, that’s why I keep falling, I need Him daily, every morning, all day every second. Well I never been the same man since, I have a new nice coat that fits me well that my Father gave me get up at 6:00am in the morning and meet Him at the mountain like Moses did. Matter of fact He wakes me in the morning and says hey go get in your Bible. Never have fallen out since, its a Joy to get up and spend time with my Father, my Jesus, and my Holy Ghost. Life is awesome now, I live to worship and acknowledge Him all the days of my Life. What a transformation He can put on someone, ha, thank you for all the help Holy Spirit, my teacher. With lots of Love, if we didn’t have any Love we are Bankrupt, thank you Jesus, for your LOVE in me…Blessings Pastor Frank, all of you all are in my prayers daily. ;) It’s by His Grace and Mercy that I am where I am. I’m so excited and Love to study His Word. Best Book I ever read. Love the Author, how can anyone read a man made book with different authors and past this wonderful Book up. Thank you, Jesus, I love your Presence.. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,712 other followers

