CHILDREN AGAIN

CHILDREN AGAIN

Gal. 4:6-7 ¶ And because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into your hearts, crying out, “Abba, Father!” Therefore you are no longer a slave but a son, and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.

One of the biggest obstacles to receiving anything from The Lord is our pride. It’s funny how “sneaky” pride can be, no one thinks they are proud until they see it. Jesus said that in order to enter the kingdom we have to become like little children. Jesus is describing a child like humility that is necessary in order to receive anything from The Lord. One of my biggest obstacles that I had to overcome to enter into renewal back in 1994 was myself. Somehow I had become a self appointed expert on everything to do with church. It is embarrassing to even think about it. As I began to see a fresh move of the Spirit effecting other people, I reluctantly recognized the pride that was hindering me from entering in. I had to become a child again. Through the coaxing of the Spirit, I was able to surrender my ego, suddenly I found myself swept up into a fresh move of the Spirit of God. John Arnott emphasized this child like faith in his book The father’s Blessing, check out this quote from his book.

“We have tried hard to be men of God and women of God and never really learned to be children of God. We have emotional needs, and we need to be loved emotionally. Emotions come from our Creator. God has them; He is emotional, and we are made in His image. He wants to love us emotionally; He wants us to love Him emotionally with all our hearts, our souls and as well as our minds. Matt. 22:37 ¶ Jesus said to him, “ ‘You shall love the LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND.’”

That was the thing that caught me by surprise when The Lord began to pour out His Spirit in our church in 1994, I was stunned by the way the Holy Spirit awakened and impacted my emotions. I was like a giddy child, excited about the Bible, excited about church, excited that I was a pastor, my love for God was more than a doctrine. This love was lit up like a flame in my heart. The joy of The Lord became very, very real to me. I would laugh when I was preaching, I would laugh when I was reading my Bible, why I even woke my wife up laughing in my sleep night after night.
For some people what I am describing can be quite disturbing, for others, it is a breath of fresh air. It is disturbing to some because their Christian faith has become way to clinical. It’s success is judged by the size of the crowds or the size of the offerings. I can say these things because that is what happened to me. That’s what happens to everyone when we move away from the child like simplicity of loving our Father and receiving our Father’s love.

4 Responses to “CHILDREN AGAIN”

  1. KEVIN FALGOUST Says:

    There is nothing and I mean nothing like waking up taking that fresh breath and saying Good morning Lord. Makes me tingle makes me laugh makes me want to get up and spend time with Him and the Holy Spirit in my Bible just makes me jump up out of bed for joy and more. As I progress my day with saying I love you Jesus, all day long walking out to view my yard, looking all around and continue to go my walk, journey I know He is right there with me. Not boasting on myself but Him, the Holy Spirit and I put up a big cross in my front yard and I walk in the drive way and just look at it and say all of this is for you Jesus. My cross everything. I give it all to you. When I went to build the cross I didn’t have no idea how to build it but guess what it came out perfect, thank you Holy Spirit for the help. I am so amazed at what He has done with me, not bragging on self but Him all Him. Just lights me up and fills me with energy that sometimes I feel like I’m going to explode, its awesome. What a King we serve and have and live for. The Joy the Laughs all of mg days are filled with Him, He’s all I want. Wow, how I am so in love with Him.
    Love you, Pastor Frank, thanks for blogs, Life means something to me now, Hallelujah:) by the way never laughed so much in my life sometimes it cracks me up, ha take care….

  2. James k. Marse Jr. Says:

    Many times my friends has God poured out his love upon me! When being sinful but repenting! Also when acting within his will! Being comforted by him is true bliss! John 14:11-17. Hail “The Lord Jesus Christ”!

  3. scott ericksen Says:

    I like how you said no one thinks there proud until they see it. That statement in itself is so vital. We believers should understand the work of the holy spirit. He helps us to see ourselves as we truly are and at the same time pulling us in those areas that we do not want to go because of lack of trust. So important to know that . That’s where we get our testamonies. Testamonies of change.

  4. mimi crabtree Says:

    Great word!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

