FOR US

FOR US

Is. 9:6 For unto us a Child is born,
Unto us a Son is given;
And the government will be upon His shoulder.
And His name will be called
Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

This verse captures the heart and spirit of the protestant reformation. Christ was born “for us”. It was not an impersonal birth for the masses, he was born for me. The government of my life is upon His shoulders. His name is wonderful to me because His miracle power has changed my life. He is my Counselor, He fills me with His guidance in all the circumstances of my life. He is the Mighty God for me, working all circumstances out for my good, conquering all my enemies. He is my Father. He has sent the spirit of adoption into my soul, I have become His son. Jesus is my Prince of Peace. In a world rocked by turmoil and confusion I can rest in His arms of love, He has brought peace into my life. Martin Luther’s message could be characterized by this verse. We have a personal relationship with a personal God. Here it is in Luther’s own words.

“The first thing to learn in this prophecy of Isaiah is that a child is born to you and is your child, just as we sing, “A child so praiseworthy is born to us today.” We must accentuate the word “us” and write it large. That is, when you hear, A child has been born to us, make the two letters US as large as heaven and earth and say, the child is born, it is true; but for whom is he born? Unto US, for us he is born, says the prophet. He was not born solely to his mother, the Virgin Mary, nor solely for his compatriots, his brethren and kinfolk, the Jews. Much less was he born to God in heaven, who was in no need of the birth of this child; but he was born unto us humans on earth. Thus the prophet wants to say to you and to me, to all of us in general, and to each and every one in particular, Listen, brother, I want to sing a joyous song to you and proclaim the joyous news to you. There, in the manger at Bethlehem, lies a young child, a fine little boy; this little child is yours, he is granted and given to you.”

It’s easy to get caught up in the busy-ness of life, this verse has a way of centering us. The birth of the Son of God was not a far away thing that has no relevance in my life. No way!! His birth defines my life. He became a man for me, He was born in Bethlehem for me. When I embrace Him, He embraces me. His love brings meaning into every part of my life. Sing and shout for joy, a Son has been born for us and His name is Jesus.

3 Responses to “FOR US”

  1. lisa Says:

    Hallujah!! Thank you jesus for US!!!!!! My savior!! Our king, Our father, our everything! !!!!!!

  2. KEVINFALGOUST Says:

    :) Good Morning, Pastor Frank… How great is our KING, Hallelujah.
    He is ALL, HALLELUJAH. GLORY, HONOR AND PRAISE.
    WE WILL TRUST IN HIM AND HIM ONLY.
    WE WILL NOT BE SHAKEN..
    HALLELUJAH, PRAISE YOU MY KING/ JESUS. THANK YOU FATHER/JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT.
    SHOUT HIS MIGHTY NAME ACROSS THE EARTH…:) :) Have an awesome day in our LORD, with LOVE,
    What a precious and wonderful gift.
    US……

  3. JoeG Says:

    I have been enjoying the daily readings for about a year, thanks for the encouragement! With Christmas here, I have thought to myself that the whole world knows WHAT Christmas is about, but do they stop to come to know WHO Christmas is about! My initial thoughts were that it’s about our Messiah Jesus. Yes it is, and yet as I read “For US!” I ve come to the deeper truth that Christmas is all about US,ME Each one of US! This Amazing Gift is for US! He is mine and I am His. Praise GOD for his Pele gift! GOD Bless you all!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,711 other followers

