FLESH AND BLOOD

FLESH AND BLOOD

John 1:14 ¶ And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.

This has to be the greatest of all miracles. Think about it, the Creator entered His own creation. How could that be? Not only is this the greatest of all miracles, this is also the greatest display of love. God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son. He came to this earth knowing full well what He would face. He faced rejection, misunderstanding, and horrendous suffering. Why did He do it? It was His love for fallen man. It was also to display the glory of His grace in redemption. Man had no hope of reconciliation to God after the fall. He was eternally doomed until the Word became flesh. Martin Luther also spoke about the glory of God becoming man in this portion of a Christmas message.

“Whoever is able to apprehend it confidently, never doubting, will fare well. Whoever does not doubt but firmly believes that this child, Mary’s son, is true God has to be filled with joy, knowing that this applies to me; for he came in my flesh and blood. I did not come to him, but he came to me; he came down from heaven and did not go to the devils in hell, into a forest or wilderness to the wild animals, but into the world among us humans, as St. John says: “The Word was made flesh and dwelt among us” (1:14). He assumed all that I am and have, yet was without sin. Accordingly, St. Augustine states: “In Jesus Christ, our Lord, everyone among us is portio (i.e. a part of) flesh and blood.” Therefore, where my body holds sway, there I believe that I myself rule. Where my flesh is transfigured, there I believe that I myself received glory. Where my blood prevails, there I believe that I myself prevail. For though I am a sinner, I have no doubts in the communion of grace. That is a most intimate graciousness, when we bear in mind how far God previously was separated from us before Christ became man. Therefore, we celebrate this festival, so that we may truly learn to recognize and lay hold on this kinship we have with God and God has with us, and the communion of grace, comforting ourselves with it and rejoicing over it.”

God took on flesh and blood, unthinkable. Today, He still lives in flesh and blood, He reigns in heaven as a man. Christmas is our great celebration of unity with God. We are bone of His bone and flesh of His flesh. We have been brought into an incredible union with God. He stooped down to identify with us to join humanity, He raised us up to taste His sonship. Joy to the world The Lord is come, let earth receive her King.

4 Responses to “FLESH AND BLOOD”

  1. lisa Says:

    Thank you jesus! ! Praise his name! Let everything that has breath praise the lord! !

  2. KEVINFALGOUST Says:

    HALLELUJAH, :) I LIFT UP ALL MY LIFE TO YOU KING, DAILY.
    HOW PRECIOUS ARE YOU TO ME!!!
    YOUR LEADING ME HOME..

    Hallelujah let earth receive her KING.
    Thank You LORD…. Praise the KING of KINGS..
    Have an awesome day in our LORD, love you, Pastor, awesome words, more fire LORD.
    Protection over my Pastor Frank Bailey… More visions
    Love you Pastor….:)

  3. Scott ericksenfamily Says:

    Kissing the son and lovin it. Thanks again.

  4. KEVINFALGOUST Says:

    NOTHING LIKE A PRECIOUS KISS FROM OUR LORD. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,712 other followers

