LOVE’S DEFINITION

LOVE’S DEFINITION

For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
Rom 5:6-8

What does love look like? I have always heard that Jesus “loves” me, but how does that look. What kind of love does He love me with? Actually, Paul tells us in this verse, God demonstrates His love for us on the cross. His amazing death gives us a glimpse of His great love for sinners. The love of God is clearly seen in the death of His Son.
Recently, I went for a run with my dog, Sam. I was listening to music on my iPod, and a Misty Edwards song, “Arms Wide Open” was playing. As I was listening to the song, I heard her describing this very truth, the simple truth which she called “Love’s Definition”.

“And then I saw Him there, hanging on a tree, looking at me
I saw Him there, hanging on a tree, looking at me
He was looking at me, looking at Him, staring through me
I could not escape those beautiful eyes
And I began to weep and weep

He had arms wide open, a heart exposed
Arms wide open; He was bleeding, bleeding

Love’s definition, love’s definition was looking at me
Looking at Him, hanging on a tree
I began to weep and weep and weep and weep

This is how I know what love is, this is how I know what love is”

Love’s definition, we have always been looking for that definition, but words could never describe it, it had to be seen in action. Can you see it now, Christ’s love for you demonstrated at the cross? This is the love that captured Paul on the road to Damascus, this is the love that “strangely warmed John Wesley’s heart, this is the love that brought Mary of Bethany to that place of worship at the feet of Jesus. Can you see it now? Do you understand His definition of love?
When you comprehend love’s definition, you are changed into a worshiper, what else could we do? Our response to this radical love has no other recourse, His love for us requires worship, that is our response to His definition of love. Have another look at Calvary, if you dare. When you see the beaten, broken body of Jesus, looking at you with His eyes of love and His arms wide open, you will be hooked, permanently captured by his incredible definition of love.

One Reply to “LOVE’S DEFINITION”

  1. my wife and i were talking on this very thing a few days ago she came close to not being with us she had blood clotsw go threw her heart and live the doctors are amazed she is still here i got prayer every where while this was gpoing on im not surprised the lord is still in this kind of bussines we also have fellowshhip and he will listen to urrr very hearts he loved us enough he died for us so we can have fellowship and he cares for us here and now i cannot even imagine his love for us it is mind boggleing i can see it even though i cant understand in my own mind why god would give his only begotten son in my mind for sinners he really loves us all sinners saints all he takes no delite when the wicked dies he loves the sinner but hates sin its his will no one perishes that all come to him many dont but that is his desire he cares how we feel and what we go threw we can now approach gods thrown boldly for out requests all because of the cross that is love my wife relly got a better veiw of this her heart at this time waqs i may be going home now she thinks and i do too the lord isnt quite yet readdy to take her we all that know him because of the cross have taken a new life in him free gift paid for in the lords blood resurected here with us now living inside our very being loving us it dont get better than this we have him forever and he will not change he is the same always yesterday today tomorrow forever i know in my limited mind i can and will never tottally understand all we can do is is belive him and obey let him love us and live for him he died for us

Leave a Reply

