DON’T TOUCH MY JUNK

DON’T TOUCH MY JUNK

And he answered and said to Him, “Teacher, all these things I have kept from my youth.”
Then Jesus, looking at him, loved him, and said to him, “One thing you lack: Go your way, sell whatever you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, take up the cross, and follow Me.” But he was sad at this word, and went away sorrowful, for he had great possessions.
MK 10:20-22

“Don’t touch my junk”, everyone knows exactly what the man going through security at the airport meant. He had gone as far as he could go. You can look through my belongings, take off my belt, pull off my hat, put my coat through the conveyor belt, and have me walk in my socks all over the filthy building. Ask me irrational questions, make me go through multiple lines and screenings, but don’t touch my junk. You can pat me down, x-ray my camera and computer, and look repeatedly at my i.d. but don’t touch my junk. We have all given up freedoms and convenience for safety in the last few years, but we are willing to go only so far. Part of our life is ours and we don’t want any intruders in those areas.
That is what the rich young ruler felt like when Jesus asked him to sell his belongings and give everything to the poor. He had followed the commandments from his childhood, missed out on all of the dalliances of youth, had spent way too much time in religious meetings, but now Jesus was going too far. “Don’t touch my junk!” He may not have said it but that is exactly what he was thinking. How do I know that? Because all of us have thought it. We are willing to follow the Lord only so far and then He goes too far. He asks us to use our house for a Bible study or maybe our car to bring the poor to church. Or maybe He will ask you to go to the prison for ministry or to help with follow up or even street evangelism. “Don’t touch my junk. Did I say that out loud?” Then the Lord really goes over the line, “Support your church with the first tenth of your income.” Then we hear the voice going off inside of us “don’t touch my junk”. Most people will followup as He went, the multitudes thronged Him. Now a woman, having a flow of blood for twelve years, who had spent all her livelihood on physicians and could not be healed by any,came from behind and touched the border of His garment. And immediately her flow of blood stopped.
And Jesus said, “Who touched Me?”
When all denied it, Peter and those with him* said, “Master, the multitudes throng and press You, and You say, ‘Who touched Me?’ “*
But Jesus said, “Somebody touched Me, for I perceived power going out from Me.” Now when the woman saw that she was not hidden, she came trembling; and falling down before Him, she declared to Him in the presence of all the people the reason she had touched Him and how she was healed immediately.”the Lord when they are making the rules, then it is okay. But the Lord is not after our actions or our “junk”, He is after our heart. He knows the only way to our heart is to ask us for our precious things, yes He wants to touch your junk, it is the sure way to get to your heart.

One thought on “DON’T TOUCH MY JUNK

  1. How true this is i see how the lord in m y own life has worked in this area i had a lot of junk in my life he wanted to set me free from some real strong strongholds that was really effecting my life i had some real hurts in my life i thought i could just hang in there and it would be ok i found out that isnt the way it happens the lord came to set the captive free pull down strongholds the real junk in our lives if we allow him to do that i had to learn to trust his people you cant trust the world or unbelivers they cant really help you my problems were bad and they wernt produceing fruit i got to where i coulnt even exsist unless i was healed things happen to many people that form them they get saved but hav e strongholds hangovers saten will attack them with real junk it took me a while to finially want to get rid of the strongholds once and for all it was gods love that got me in a place to really give them over theb did just thatmy life changed to what he wanted when the devil would remind me i would think nice try saten the lord delivered me isnt tjhat great i learned if in in the spirit saten cant use anything but only bring accusations my life was being changed in so many ways i can only say with the lord it is possiable on our own we will fail badly he not only set me free but healed my life i can share this at one time i couldnt i was in too much bondage i praise the lord dailly for being set free with a real purpose in my life getting to see lives touched by our lord he changes his children from glory to glory

Leave a Reply

