MY TIMES ARE IN HIS HAND

MY TIMES ARE IN YOUR HANDS

But as for me, I trust in You, O Lord;
I say, “You are my God.”
My times are in Your hand;
Deliver me from the hand of my enemies,
Ps. 31:14,15

This passage of scripture brings a sense of security and peace, resting in the Father’s plan. No matter how many enemies we have stacked against us, no matter how strong they may be, our life is held safely in the Father’s hand.
Exactly what does the Lord have in His hand? He has my family, my ministry, the day of my birth, the day of my death, He has everything orchestrated perfectly for my life. Who can separate me from the love of God? Shall life or death or sickness or poverty? If God be for me, who can be against me? Shall life or death or angels or any created being be able to hinder the plan of God in my life?

Albert Barnes wrote about this verse in his commentary, listen to his thoughts about the times of God.
“My times are in thy hand – That is, I said this in my trouble; when my friends forsook me, and when my enemies came around me and threatened my life. The meaning is, that all that pertained to him was under the control and at the disposal of God. He would ” live” as long as God should please. It was His to give life; His to preserve it; His to take it away. All in relation to life – its origin – its continuance – its changes – its seasons – childhood, youth, middle age, old age – all was in the hand of God. No one, therefore, could take his life before the time that had been appointed by God, and he might calmly commit the whole to him. This we may feel in all seasons of life and in all times of danger; of sickness; of feebleness. We shall live as long as God has appointed; we shall pass through such changes as he directs; we shall die when and where and how he chooses. In the faithful discharge of our duty, therefore, we may commit all these things to him, and leave all at his disposal.”
Thinking about the day of your death may be “different” for you, but knowing that everything, even that day, is all orchestrated brings an incredible sense of peace into our lives. Our times are in His hand and we can rest in that.
2011 is just ahead of us, even though nothing has happened, each of those days in this next year are in the hand of God. We can rest in His plans and confidently go forward knowing that the Lord has us in His hand and nothing will be able to stop His amazing plan from being fulfilled in us.

5 thoughts on “MY TIMES ARE IN HIS HAND

  1. yes i agree with you brother too much time is spent on people worrying on all this stuff our lives are hid in christ he calls it the way he wants it where we go who we marry where we fellowship the people we are around all of it thats were we are suppost to be at set aside for him many playing games wont be found walking up right in that day if we trfuely love the lord we will walk upright in what you shared this morning i pray im found worthy its keeping our eyes on him no matter what

  2. Thank you again Frank for these posts. This one brings rest / the rest Christ was speaking about. We can rest in the knowledge that the maker of the Universe – has eyes for us.. knows us.. and keeps us in His hands.

    Love it…. Thank You….

  3. The Lord has constantly whispered in my ear over and over again this scripture during the rough times I have faced in my walk with Him over 29 years. He has been faithful to help me turn my eyes off of this world’s system to help and onto His Keeping Power!

Leave a Reply

