HAVE ANOTHER DRINK

HAVE ANOTHER DRINK

Now on the final and most important day of the Feast, Jesus stood, and cried in a loud voice, If any man is thirsty, let him come to Me and drink!
He who believes in Me [who cleaves to and trusts in and relies on Me] as the Scripture has said, From his innermost being shall flow [continuously] springs and rivers of living water. John 7:37,38 Amplified Bible

I will never forget those first days when I was in the revival meetings in Rockwall Texas. It was 1994 and the first time I had met Rodney Howard Browne. The atmosphere was charged with power, God’s power, and people from all around the world were coming for a “drink”. “Drink” seemed to be the new word on everyone’s lips, Rodney kept saying “Have another drink”, I had no clue what any of it meant. After several days of meetings, I begin to understand, drinking was receiving, something I had all but forgotten how to do. During that next week, my life begin to change as I took on a whole new way of life, a lifestyle of drinking in the water of the Spirit. Everything was becoming brand new to me, worship was becoming new, church was becoming new, the Bible was becoming new, this drinking was effecting every part of my life. In today’s verse we catch a glimpse of this “drinking lifestyle” that Jesus began to introduce. His terminology is very interesting, He actually says to drink and keep on drinking. The word drink in is His declaration is a continuous action word, keep on drinking and the Spirit will keep on flowing. The receiving of the Spirit is not a once and for all proposition but a lifestyle of total dependency on the Lord. How often can I be filled, as often as I drink. When will I drink, when I am thirsty. Are you thirsty for God, are you aware of your spiritual need? When you become painfully aware of your spiritual condition and your great need for the Lord, that is when you are ready to begin to drink in God’s Holy Spirit. What is the outcome of this kind of drinking? You become aware of God’s incredible presence, you become more and more attracted to the Bible and to Christ Himself, you become involved more and more in this new lifestyle characterized by spiritual thirst. Do you feel those “thirst pains” in your belly, then come to the river, open up your mouth, and have another drink.

4 Replies to “HAVE ANOTHER DRINK”

  1. I heard a song called holy ghost wine, it ministered to me just like putting gas in the car we have to keep doing it or we run short of fuel if we dont keep getting filled by the spirit we run short and get very dry and crustyin our relationship with the lord get out iof focus onery if not careful seeking what we think and not gods heart in the matter ive been caught there before thats when its time to go to the lord and get back on tract again its better yet to stay in the spirit drink that holy ghost wine stay close to the lord

  2. I too was touched,and am still drinking in the awsome presence of the lord. The lord allows me to drink almost everyday,to deal with the normal problems,that I encounter.But a lot of times,the lord will just let me have a drink,for no reason at all. If it were not for his incredible mercy and grace, I don”t know what I would havedone. Thank you lord!!

Leave a Reply

