MISSIONARY TO NOLA

MISSIONARY TO NOLA

Do you not say, ‘There are yet four months, then comes the harvest’? Look, I tell you, lift up your eyes, and see that the fields are white for harvest. Already the one who reaps is receiving wages and gathering fruit for eternal life, so that sower and reaper may rejoice together. For here the saying holds true, ‘One sows and another reaps.’ I sent you to reap that for which you did not labor. Others have labored, and you have entered into their labor.”
Jn.4:35-38

I was twenty six years old, just out of Bible School, and headed back to New Orleans. Parris was twenty one, and our first son, Jeremy, was three years old and we were excited. We had been away for four years and we were returning to begin our great gospel adventure in New Orleans. We had no real plans, but we had a fire burning in our hearts. As we were crossing the Bonnet Carre Spillway, I was reading my Bible (obviously a friend was driving our borrowed car) and then it happened. I got my first real strong word from the Lord. It was the passage of scripture at the beginning of today’s devotion. The Lord was calling me as a missionary, that part was not unusual because our school was a missionary training center. It was the location that was strange, the Lord was calling me as a missionary to New Orleans, my home town. We had all sorts of plans, most Bible school students do, but now we had a word from the Lord, this would change everything.
In this verse he spoke to me of an unprecedented supernatural harvest (makes me think of Beyond the Grave). He also said others had labored and I was entering into their labors. The second part struck me. I always remember this word and remember the labor of others. All of us are just vessels in the overall master plan of God, it is not our work but His, and any fruit that we bare is the Lord’s fruit. Many have gone before us and prepared the soil for the great last day harvest of the Lord.
Thirty four years have passed since the Lord gave me this word but it is as fresh today as it was then. There is a great harvest ready to be reaped in the city of New Orleans, in America, and in the nations. Just like Jesus said, “lift up your eyes, and see that the fields are ready for harvest”. Maybe the Lord is speaking again today, maybe He is speaking to you. Can you hear His voice? “I am sending you to reap where others have labored”. The greatest harvest of all is yet to be reaped, an unprecedented harvest is ripening in the fields. Who will go and whom will He send? Those who have ears to hear His precious voice.

3 thoughts on “MISSIONARY TO NOLA

  1. We are getting same message here in northwest arkansas, we are starting a big campain revival tomorrow night that will go on till saturday nite other bodys are coming in with us as a joint labor to share the lord in this area, a lot of love and unity and prayer and waiting on the lord and his provision went into this, our big concern is souls and strongholds being broken that has influenced this area for generations sometimes i thgink saten owns this area, but i know he douse not the lord will have the final say and that there is many the lord will save not to be discouraged hang in there and believe something is going to happen all of us hav e been having to battle the enemy prior to this revvvvvvival all kinds of things trying to stop this from going on it didnt work we are going on tomorrow nite anyway in spite of weather hardships travel for some one brother is coming all the way from norway some are going to try and make it from the bronks in newyork city many really laid it down all of us did it may be the only punch we have for a while and we hope to punch hard for the kingdom

  2. This devitional brings to mind the following scripture; Luke 17:10 – So you also, when you have done all that you were commanded, say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done what was our duty.
    Thank you Father for allowing Your children to receive joy for what You do through them and we give You all the glory! /

  3. Great word today, Pastor Frank. I am often reminded that I am working in a field that my parents labored in for years. I am deeply appreciative of all of their efforts and the role that you played in my development as well. I would not be the man I am today without the introduction to the Manifest Presence of God that I experienced at Victory. Thank you for playing a part in the harvest in the Northwest.

Leave a Reply

