THE AUTHOR AND FINISHER

AUTHOR AND FINISHER

looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.
Heb.12:2

Have you ever felt like you were way over your head? Your circumstances are bigger than you or your abilities. It seems like your troubles are “unfixable”, so why even try? All of us have faced situations like that. The spiritual and the carnal, the Christian and the nonchristian all face huge problems throughout our lives.
How we respond in those times will define the outcome of our life.
I was in one of those moments in my life in 1990. We had just completed a new church facility, the economy had tanked, and we could not pay our bills. Part of me wishes I could tell you I gave an offering to some ministry and got a breakthrough to get out of debt. That didn’t happen. What I did receive was far more valuable. The Lord spoke to me from His word. It was delivered as a word of prophesy by Dick Mills, but actually it was the verse of scripture for today’s devotion. The part that spoke to me was the “author and Finisher of my faith”. That was what I needed. I knew my Christian life had begun supernaturally, my salvation was an encounter with God. I knew He was the author of my faith. Now I saw it, Jesus was also the Finisher of my faith. My future success, the success of my ministry was in the hands of the Lord, what could be a safer a place than that? The One who had started this journey was more than able to finish it. Like I said before, my circumstances didn’t instantly change, something better happened. I changed. Something inside me was different. I didn’t know how, but I knew in my heart everything was going to be okay.
Over the months and years ahead the Lord delivered us out of our crisis, but as far as I was concerned, the crisis ended when He spoke to my heart.
What are you facing today? Is any problem too big for our God? The One who began this beautiful work in you will finish it, He always does. He is not only the author of your faith, He is the finisher. He will finish what He started. Today, stop looking for the circumstances to change, that is the easy part. Let the word of the Lord settle down in your heart, let Him change you, that is the place your miracle will begin.

2 thoughts on “THE AUTHOR AND FINISHER

  1. The crisis situation begs for you to wait on the Lord. As in an earlier devotion – God hides in the storm! I often wonder about the decisions I make when all is sunny and music is playing in the background. I have a sense the decision is huge yet because all is well I tend to lean on my own understanding instead of waiting and seeking. Paul aludes to this in phl 4:12. Even though Paul speaks of finding his joy in all situations, plenty and lack, to me it speaks on a broader term. I must learn to trust in the Lord in all circumstances not just when I am over my head. Praise the Lord for His faithfulness. / Empty hands raised high!!!!!!!

  2. P Frank, thank you so much for this word today. Wow do I need to hear that. Sometimes I put too much stock in my ability to accomplish the Lord’s will and manage my life. Really the right attitude is yielding to God’s will and letting Him direct me. Because I love God and are called according to his purpose, all things are working together for my good.

Leave a Reply

