THIRTY TWO YEARS

THIRTY TWO YEARS

Mary Monday: Parris Bailey

“Listen carefully: Unless a grain of wheat is buried in the ground, dead to the world, it is never any more than a grain of wheat. But if it is buried, it sprouts and reproduces itself many times over. In the same way, anyone who holds on to life just as it is destroys that life. But if you let it go, reckless in your love, you’ll have it forever, real and eternal.” John 12:24 The Message

Sunday, Victory Fellowship, Frank, and I celebrated thirty two years of ministry. Before I left for church this morning Frank had me run upstairs and get his Bible that he had since 1973, the very same Bible that the Lord spoke to him from when we were driving into the city to take over the work that our bible school had started. When I went to grab his Bible, I saw my old Bible, the one that I had since 1976. Those Bibles have been sitting there for years, but today of all days, it all got to me. I opened mine, and saw the scriptures Dick Mills gave to me during that time and I saw the words, “FAITH, TIME, PATIENCE-ALL THINGS ARE POSSBILE”-5/5/77. That little scribble scratch called out to me—it was the very same word that the Lord had just given me for 2011.
This Sunday I was to take the tithes and offering and the Lord gave me John 12:24. Unless the grain of wheat is buried into the ground, it is never any more than a grain of wheat. I used my bible from 1976 to share from and drove a van that someone just had donated to Mary’s Song from her parent’s estate. I guess you could say it all began making sense. We die so that others live. That little hippie girl from the 70’s, surely had no idea that her whole life would become one big seed planted into the ground so a harvest could come from it.
I found this quote yesterday: “See the fatal consequences of an inordinate love of life; many a man hugs himself to death, and loses his life by over-loving it. He that so loves his animal life as to indulge his appetite, and make provision for the flesh, shall thereby shorten his days and shall lose the life he is so fond of. He that is so much in love with the life of the body, and the ornaments and delights of it, as to deny Christ, he shall lose it, that is, lose a real happiness in the other world, while he thinks to secure an imaginary one in this.”
Even the van that was given had meaning, it too had to germinate itself into the kingdom of God. The loved one who died would have a legacy, their car would be used for women getting a second chance. The hippie girl would find a new love, how ’bout you? Are you ready to decompose yourself?

6 Replies to “THIRTY TWO YEARS”

  1. Yesterday at the service the LORD showed me 2 things. 1)the Israelites did not plant as we do now (make a furrow, plant a seed). The seed was broadcast, scattered about and then the seed/field was plowed under. The seed was cast aboutnot knowing exactly where it would sprout, and the turning of the earth had to be through, tumultous even (to the seed) to cover the seed.
    2)This is like Victory. Many people have come through the doors, many ministers have been birthed from seed broadcast:
    People who were in ministry and then were released from their position for various reasons-broadcast seed.
    People who were purposely sent out-broadcast seed.
    People who sent themsemves out-broadcast seed.
    3) And you standing before us dying, showing me at least-this is how we die and this is how we bear fruit, abundant fruit, even fruit that you are unaware of because you can’t control that BROADCAST seed..
    Thank you!
    Love Sherry

  2. Jesus spoke of a ‘ corn of wheat ‘ bringing forth mush fruit i.e. thousands of corns of wheat spouting from a wheat plant. His death has produced billions of Christian souls yet how many have been truly reborn in His Spirit to be refined into His Image. Repent and forget about the material prizes of this temporary world and be reborn into the eternal Spiritual one where Jesus has prepared a place for you. Hosanna in the Highest. Blessed be His Name Always. Amen, Amen, and Amen. In His Light and Love.

  3. Congratulations to both of you for two exceptional lives in Christ. Have you all ever thought about having a Prodigal Son Celebration where you and other reborn Christians reflect upon the very day of yourr Rebirth in Christ? This weekend my beloved brother in Christ, Mark Planchard, is having his Prodigal Son Celebration where there will be tears of joy flowing when the Prodigal Son scripture is read and attendees reflect individually on their personal experiences leading up to and their unforgettable very day of rebirth.In His Light and Love.

  4. Parris, I love you an Pastor Frank so much even though it seems like a lifetime since I saw you. I want you to know that I had a vision of sorts one service. I think it was during worship, but I remember sitting at the base of the platform steps and I saw this large tree standing where the podium usually is/was. It was very large and it had big fruit like oranges. I saw the fruit was swallowed by those surrounding it. It was swallowed whole. It was then ingested and then somehow the ingester began to have the same ability as the original tree. Casting off fruit and it was then ingested and became like a seed producing again fruit after it’s own kind. My eyes were closed the whole time, but when I opened them (btw I thought I was alone at the base of the step) there were others there too and at the podium where the tree had been was Pastor Frank. It is amazing to me that God was giving me such a sweetly simple view, and yet the outcome of this vision is beyond comprehension. You both followed Passionately after God, even when you wanted to give up and then He sent you a Fresh Touch and you ran with even greater joy. I love you both. I have been saved 16 years this month. To God be the Glory for Victory & RMI.

  5. Came home tonight after service and opened my first Bible from 12-25-66 a gift from my father. Who would have thought that when I used this Bible in 1967 to deliver a sermon that through all the “stuff” I would end up where I am today. Thank you and Pastor Frank for your compassion and love for Him, His word and His people. I have attended Victory since 1993 and have been so blessed in my own spiritual growth and watching others grow also. Here is to many, many more years of ministry

  6. 30 yrs ago I walked through the doors fresh from a life of drug addiction and back slidden state. The only folks I knew were the Picolo’s from going to school with John and Lailani at First Assembly. I was there 2 min and knew I was home. You had just moved from Kawanee to Transcontintal and still used Kawanee property for youth and young adult bible studies.
    Thanks Frank and Paris, for putting up with me all these years.
    I met my Diana there, and was married by Mitch 24yrs ago this September.
    Love you guys,

    Marc

Leave a Reply

