PUT DOWN THE PRAYER LIST

1Cor. 15:10 But by the grace of God I am what I am, and  his grace  toward me was not in vain. No, I worked harder than any of them — yet not I, but the grace of God that is with me.

One of the funniest Christian bumper stickers I have seen is “God is my co-pilot”. Now I know the intentions are good, but co-pilot? Really? Not only does He not want a second role, He wants the only role. He wants to do more than even direct our life, He wants to be our life. He wants to be all all. As Sarah Edwards often said, “I want to be swallowed up in God”. Here is how Andrew Murray describes this aspect of our relationship with The Lord.

“Ah, the blessedness of saying, “God and I!” What a privilege that I have such a partner! God first, and then I! And yet there might be secret self-exaltation in associating God with myself. And I find in the Bible a more precious word still. It is, “God and not I.” It is not, “God first, and I second; “God is all, and I am nothing”. Paul said, “I labored more abundantly than they all; though I be nothing.” Let us try to give God His place—begin in our closet, in our worship, in our prayer. The power of prayer depends almost entirely upon our apprehension of who it is with whom I speak. It is of the greatest consequence, if we have but half an hour in which to pray, that we take time to get a sight of this great God, in His power, in His love, in His nearness, just waiting to bless us. This is of far more consequence than spending the whole half hour in pouring out numberless petitions, and pleading numberless promises. The great thing is to feel that we are putting our supplications into the bosom of omnipotent Love.”

This is exactly what the outpouring of the Spirit has done in my life. For years as a pastor I sort of viewed God as the guide and source of power to succeed in my ministry. Of course I was doing it for The Lord; that was not what He was after. He was after me. It was as if the ministry was an after thought for Him, He was after my love. He wanted my life to be swallowed up in God, not swallowed up in God’s work.
So if you think about it, it is the love of God personified in the Holy Spirit that does this in our lives. He comes upon us, communicates God’s great love to us, and then the adventure begins. From that point we have tasted the only thing that our human hearts really crave, it’s the love of God. His love is a bottomless, shoreless ocean. Before you know it you are totally swallowed up. So maybe it’s time to put down the prayer list and just open your heart to the Father’s love.

7 thoughts on “PUT DOWN THE PRAYER LIST

  1. I have often said the needs of this life beg me to go to what I truly need, God Himself. Many times when I get before Him my laundry list is lost and it just good old one on one time. Not that specific potions to God are bad but it is God we need not answered prayer, cause it is He who is the One and Only with the ability to answer our prayers! \o/ empty hands raised high

  2. HALLELUJAH, YES, PRAISE YOU JESUS, YOUR MY ALL IN ALL, HALLELUJAH!!!!
    COVER ME AND SWALLOW ME UP LORD, AH, THE SECURITY BLANKET OF HIM AND HIS LOVE AND HOLY SPIRIT, HALLELUJAH. 🙂
    THANK YOU FATHER, JESUS, HOLY SPIRIT…. I’M ALL OPEN FOR YOU, JESUS, YOUR MY EVERYTHING…
    HE WALKS WITH ME AND I WALK WITH HIM DAILY 24/7….
    GOOD MORNING, PASTOR FRANK, GLORIOUS, HALLELUJAH, PRAISE JESUS, HAVE A GREAT DAY IN OUR KING, WITH (LOVE)…
    🙂 :)….GOD YOU ARE FAITHFUL!!!!

  3. God and I meet at various times and places! Truly is it fun when my body,spirit,and soul start singing in tongues! While watching t.v. God knows how much fun it is to watch me sing in different languages! God is so awesome friends!

Leave a Reply

