THE KISS OF DEATH

Luke 22:48

Have you ever really thought about Judas? He seemed to fit in with the other disciples. He didn’t really stand out until he made the fatal decisions just before Jesus was arrested. The incredible thing that stands out to me is the kiss. He betrayed The Lord with a kiss. Judas had some kind of love for Jesus, some kind of human affection. He just wanted to recreate salvation and the role of the messiah in his own image. Is he that different from a large segment of the apparent Church today? How many Christians, and yes ministers, have corrupted the Christian message with a slant toward the modern world? How many see Christ as a way just to have the kind of life you want right now? Charles Spurgeon shared some powerful insight about Judas’s kiss and how it may relate to us today.

“But what if I should be guilty of the same accursed sin as Judas, that son of perdition? I have been baptized into the name of the Lord Jesus; I am a member of his visible Church; I sit at the communion table: all these are so many kisses of my lips. Am I sincere in them? If not, I am a base traitor. Do I live in the world as carelessly as others do, and yet make a profession of being a follower of Jesus? Then I must expose religion to ridicule, and lead men to speak evil of the holy name by which I am called. Surely if I act thus inconsistently I am a Judas, and it were better for me that I had never been born. Dare I hope that I am clear in this matter? Then, O Lord, keep me so. O Lord, make me sincere and true. Preserve me from every false way. Never let me betray my Saviour. I do love thee, Jesus, and though I often grieve thee, yet I would desire to abide faithful even unto death. O God, forbid that I should be a high-soaring professor, and then fall at last into the lake of fire, because I betrayed my Master with a kiss.”

I have observed a gradual shift in the visible church over the last several years to more of an emphasis on using Christian principles to improve our circumstances in this life. I know The Lord does work in our lives now but that is far from the emphasis of the historic Christian message. The message of the historic church involves a relationship with God that we enjoy in this life and carries over into the life to come. The primary message was the availability of a new life from a personal relationship with Christ, temporal benefits were just the added blessing.
Solomon spoke of another kind of kiss, the kiss of intimcy, in the Song of Solomon.
Song 1:2 “Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouthโ€”
For your love is better than wine.”
This is a whole different kind of kiss. It wasn’t a kiss aimed at getting anything else,
it wasn’t a means to an end. The kiss itself is the reward. Solomon was singing of an intimate realtionship with an incredible God that pictures satisfying joy found in Christ alone. Have you been kissed lately?

5 thoughts on “THE KISS OF DEATH

    1. Psalm 62:6-8 ,and in the pressence of God is the fullness of joy ! As Gods children we must press in , into His pressence every day . It is there we understand this fullness of joy . The kisses of His lips the joy of relationship !

  1. HALLELUJAH, PRAISE THE ALMIGHTY POWERFUL KING/JESUS….
    HAVE YOUR WAY JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT, LET THE FUTURE BEGIN, HALLELUJAH. ๐Ÿ™‚
    GOOD MORNING, PASTOR FRANK, POWERFUL, HALLELUJAH…
    HAVE AN AWESOME DAY IN OUR KING OF KINGS JESUS, WITH LOVE. ๐Ÿ™‚
    GLORY, HONOR AND PRAISE TO YOU JESUS!!!! HALLELUJAH

  2. With all that is going on just here in our city’s & towns. Last week “the big bang” revelation, this week & in the weeks to come, the “christian movies” being released. The words from our pastor that 2014, from what God is telling him, will be a bigger wave of new converts ( hopefully the balance of our family members among others) Even the topic of the sermons ( Revelations the last couple of months) Maybe I have no idea about what I’m talking about, but it sure looks like the beginnings of a new out pouring unlike anything that I have seen in my short lifetime. Starting to get Holy Ghost bumps.

  3. I heard the “idea” some years back that causes ME to KEEP A CHECK on how I relate to JESUS. The “idea” was that Judas THOUGHT this encounter with the Religious Authorities would FORCE JESUS TO SET UP HIS KINGDOM THEN !!! I try to CHECK my relationship with God the Father, the Son and even the HOLY SPIRIT to make sure I AM NOT JUST “using” Them to get what I want ! KNOWING WHAT I REALLY AM without THEM and the THANKFULNESS for what “they” have done for me KEEPS ME IN LOVE WITH THEM even though THE KINGDOM HAS NOT YET COME and the “bad guys” are not in chains and WE DO NOT RULE YET !!! This includes the knowledge that IF JESUS DOES NOT COME SOON AND VERY SOON there WILL BE Religious Persecution HERE IN THIS USA !!! It has to be a matter or LOVE not benefits !!!

Leave a Reply

