SUNANTILAMBANOMAI

Rom. 8:26 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness;  for we do not know how to pray as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words

I love to pray in my heavenly language. The prayer language has become greatly misunderstood and the result is praying in the Spirit is highly under emphasized by the modern church. The consequences are staggering. Rather than a powerful church with signs and wonders we have become weak and immoral, making excuses for our lack of power and changing theological stances to allow for a carnal lifestyle. A return to the emphasis on the baptism in the Spirit followed by the evidence of speaking in other tongues is inevitable if God’s promises of a final revival is a reality. One of the chief benefits of praying in tongues is the help we receive described in today’s verse. We are helped in praying and actually praying Spirit directed prayers. Here is how John Wesley saw it.

“Likewise the Spirit—Nay, not only the universe, not only the children of God, but the Spirit of God also himself, as it were, groaneth, while he helpeth our infirmities, or weaknesses. Our understandings are weak, particularly in the things of God our desires are weak; our prayers are weak. We know not—Many times. What we should pray for—Much less are we able to pray for it as we ought: but the Spirit maketh intercession for us—In our hearts, even as Christ does in heaven. With groanings—The matter of which is from ourselves, but the Spirit forms them; and they are frequently inexpressible, even by the faithful themselves.”

Inexpressible in human words because our circumstances have no natural solutions. The Spirit takes us into the heavenly dimension and actually prays through us. These kinds of prayers carry supernatural power and are guranteed to be answered. Here is how Adam Clarke described this divine help.

“The word sunantilambanomai is very inadequately expressed by helpeth. It is compounded of sun, together, anti, against, and lambanomai, to support or help, and signifies such assistance as is afforded by any two persons to each other, who mutually bear the same load or carry it between them. He who prays, receives help from the Spirit of God; but he who prays not receives no such help. Whatever our strength may be, we must put it forth, even while most implicitly depending on the strength of God himself.”

What a word! Sunantilambanomai. This word translated ‘helps’ in English describes the supernatural help we receive while praying in the Spirit. This prayer transforms us and effects our circumstances this is how God helps us. So what are you waiting for? Pray in your heavenly language and watch God take over.

5 thoughts on “SUNANTILAMBANOMAI

  1. GOOD MORNING PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH, PRAISE OUR KING…
    I LOVE PRAYING IN MY HEAVENLY LANGUAGE TOO. :)HALLELUJAH
    THANK YOU FATHER, JESUS AND HOLY SPIRIT, 3IN1!!!
    HAVE AN AWESOME DAY IN OUR KING, LOVE YOU, YOU AND FAMILY ARE IN MY PRAYERS DAILY…
    PRAISE YOU JESUS, HALLELUJAH, GLORY, HONOR AND PRAISE KING OF KINGS.. 🙂

  2. Verse 23 through 25 begin funneling us toward verse 26. I see the unseen or unknown as a topic. As is in life people, saved or not, normally see the surface problem,symptom, and not the root cause. Our solution is aimed at solving or covering up the symptom.
    Yet God sees the unseen, the root causes, and that is His focus. His prayers focus on our root issues and cry out for the only One that can resolve those to do so. That seems to point to verse 27. These fixes deal deeply in our core and can be and normally are uncomfortable. How awesome these prayers are in a language I don’t understand, else I would not pray them.
    Of course that points us to verses 28 and beyond. We are loved by an AWESOME God! \o/ Mark

  3. That’s one of the first words I would say over an over in prayer. I remember how I would go to the men’s group in life center. In room 201. And you were given it. I remember being scared to death that someone would try to get me to share or speak up. And I would pray really hard that would not happen. And when I kept praying in spirit that is the word that I kept leaning on as I spoke it. And no one bothered me. Lol.

  4. I received my prayer language about three weeks after I got saved. After my salvation experience I was open to anything from the Lord .I sat in church and as everyone around started praying in their prayer language as led by you, Pastor Frank, I felt disconnected as I sensed the unity in the body at that moment. I begged God to let me “do that” haha Just then you said ,”If you dont have a prayer language, just start thanking Him for all He has done for you.” Well…I was so full of thanksgiving I just started saying thank you Jesus over and over and all of a sudden…bam!! My heavenly language started spilling out of my mouth. I cannot tell you how many times I pray in the spirit and and hear the English prayer follow it, and to see that prayer satisfied soon after. He causes us to ask that He can answer! Many times while ministering in the jail, the ladies would literally line up and ask me to “do tongues” HAHA because after praying in the spirit as I laid hands on them, the interpretation would follow with a word of knowledge for their life and encourage them. Ever grateful for your teachings on praying in the spirit. Thank you Pastor Frank!!!!

Leave a Reply

