TABLE IN THE WILDERNESS

Man does not live on bread alone,
but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.
MATTHEW 4:4

One of the greatest of all miracles in the Bible is the feeding of the multitudes. This miracle took place at least two times and is recorded in all four gospels. There are many, many lessons hidden away in this great demonstration of God’s love and power. One of these is Christ as the true bread from heaven as today’s scripture teaches us, “Man does not live on bread alone”. The miracle of the multiplying of the fish and the loaves points to a greater miracle and a greater need. Christ is the bread that comes down from heaven and we need to feast on Him everyday. How is this done? We feast on God as we feed on the written word and fellowship with Him in prayer. This is our spiritual food and without it we will quickly perish. Here are some observations by Andrew Murray on today’s verse.

“This illustration, where the Word of God is compared to our daily bread, is most instructive.
Bread is indispensable to life. However strong a person may be, if he takes no nourishment, he will grow weaker and die. It is the same with the Word of God: It contains a heavenly principle and works powerfully in those who believe. Bread must be eaten. I may know everything about bread. I may even give it to others. I may have more than enough in my house and on my table. But if I do not eat, I will die. So the mere knowledge of God’s Word, and even the preaching of it, will be of no use to me. Just thinking about it is not enough. I must feed on His Word and absorb it into my life and heart. I have to apply God’s Word to my life and allow it to possess my heart. Then it is the gospel of life. Bread needs to be eaten daily. This holds true for God’s Word as well. The psalmist said, “Oh, how I love your law! I meditate on it all day long” (Psalm 119:97). For a vibrant spiritual life, the Word of God is a daily necessity. If you seek fellowship with God, you will find Him in His Word.”

Have you had a good spiritual meal today? Sometimes you are not even aware of your hunger until you begin to eat. Maybe you can take some extra time to feed on the scripture today. After that, spend some time in worship, maybe put on some worship music in your home or in your car on the way to your daily activities. Don’t be surprised when you discover His table spread for you, even in the wilderness.

2 thoughts on “TABLE IN THE WILDERNESS

  1. HALLELUJAH, THANK YOU JESUS, 3IN1.
    GOOD MORNING, PASTOR FRANK.
    HALLELUJAH, POWERFULLY POWERFUL BLOG.. DO IT DAILY EVERYDAY 🙂
    EAT, EAT, EAT, HALLELUJAH, HOW I LOVE HIS WORD.
    FILL ME UP LORD, HALLELUJAH, OVERFLOWING..
    HAVE A GREAT DAY IN OUR KING OF KINGS PASTOR FRANK, LOVE YOU ALL.
    SWIMMING, SWIMMING SWIMMING, HALLELUJAH

  2. I believe Christ quoted Deuteronomy 8:3. I was intrigued by the word “live”. Upon looking up the definition of that verb I found it to mean:
    to live, to have life, to continue in life, remain alive, to sustain life, to live on or upon, to live (prosperously)
    [to revive, be quickened, from sickness, from discouragement, from faintness, from death]
    I know from experience that is exactly what the living word of God does for me, especially the parts in brackets! As we take it in, in times when we lose perspective, He will use that which we have consumed, His word which describes Him and His promises to us, to have us stand in the face of our trials to bring Him GLORY!

Leave a Reply

