NEEDING HIM

Mark 8:1-2 ¶ In those days, when again a great crowd had gathered, and they had nothing to eat, he called his disciples to him and said to them, “I have compassion on the crowd, because they have been with me now three days and have nothing to eat.

How much do you need Him? Let me phrase that differently, how well do you know that you need Him? All of humanity, actually, all of creation stands in continuous need of Him. Our fallen condition has blinded our eyes to our great need. We try to muster up our confidence and self esteem to live our best life now when at the end of the day, we are poor and needy creatures. We need God! I need God! I need Him when I wake up, I need Him for daily bread, I need Him to sustain and heal my body, I need Him just to survive. The miracle of feeding the multitudes displayed our utter dependence on God. He is always present, always giving. He is the Giver, I am the receiver. Here is how Charles Spurgeon sees it.

​”These guests had one thing in common, which I have no doubt will be found among us also—they were all hungry and they were all poor. They could not supply one single dish for the table. Not one of them had a loaf to contribute nor a fish to give to the Master of the feast. They were all hungry, but not one could produce a crust; and the Lord neither asked them to contribute nor repelled them because of their poverty. Am I, then, to-night, an empty sinner, having no good in myself? Do I feel that I could not contribute even one perfect thought, much less one solitary perfect action to the stores of the Redeemer’s merit? Nevertheless, he bids me come, and come I will. He is a great giver; I can only be a receiver, and my utter lack of all goodness fits me to receive from him, since the emptier the vessel the more it can receive. If I could help him there would be no need for him to work a miracle on my account, but since I can bring nothing whatsoever, I need his miraculous power.”

This is actually what glorifies God, total dependency. One of the great ministries of the Holy Spirit is to open our eyes. He opens our eyes to our sinfulness and need of a Savior, then He opens our eyes to the Father’s love for us and the riches He lavishes upon us in Christ. Just as Christ satisfied and sustained His followers in the wilderness, He satisfies and sustains all of us today who come to Him.

3 thoughts on “NEEDING HIM

  1. Amen!!Lord I ask you would draw souls to come to you and to draw people to live to worship Jesus!!! May we all live to worship Jesus!! I live to worship Jesus, to worship I live, I live to worship my Jesus!!

  2. HALLELUJAH, I NEED HIM DAILY, I LOVE HIM.
    GLORIOUS, LET ME ALWAYS SING HALLELUJAH, HALLELUJAH, HALLELUJAH, I WILL ALWAYS SING HALLELUJAH.
    THANK YOU LORD FOR OPENING MY EYES AND,EARS. USE ME FOR YOUR GLORY JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT, IT’S ALL FOR YOUR GLORY KING. I LOVE YOU.
    GOOD MORNING, PASTOR FRANK, LOVE YOU, HAVE A GREAT DAY IN OUR KING JESUS.

Leave a Reply

