RESTORE AND COMFORT

Psa. 23:3 He refreshes and restores my life (my self); He leads me in the paths of righteousness [uprightness and right standing with Him—not for my earning it, but] for His name’s sake.

All of us are starving, we are starving for life itself. We live in a shady world filled with promises of life that never quite seem to pan out. As a result, our hunger deepens. What is the problem? Our hunger is for something this world can never offer, our heart longs for God. Keil and Delitzsch speak about this life available to us in the Shepherd, check this out.

“ (restores my soul) signifies to bring back the soul that is as it were flown away, so that it comes to itself again, therefore to impart new life.  This He does to the soul, by causing it amidst the dryness and heat of temptation and trouble, to taste the very essence of life which refreshes and strengthens it.”

That is exactly what are hearts are hungry for, life itself. When we discover this life available to us only in Christ, we begin to experience the healing and comfort for our soul. Verse 4 for in the S

hepherd”s Psalm describes this. Here is verse 4 followed by comments by Dick Mills.

Psa. 23:4 ¶ Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

for you are with me;

your rod and your staff,

they comfort me.

“comfort, nacham: To comfort, console, extend compassion, sigh with one who is grieving; to repent. Nacham originally may have meant “to breathe intensely because of deep emotion.” In some references, the word is translated “repent,” the idea being that regret causes deep sighing. In its sense of comfort, nacham does not describe casual sympathy, but rather deep empathy. It is like “weeping with those who weep,” or actually “sighing with those who sigh.” From nacham are derived the names “Nahum” (“Comforting”) and Nehemiah (“Comfort of Yahweh”).”

The funny thing about spiritual hunger is that we often aren’t in touch with it. It is disguised by a troubled or wounded heart. As we look to the very source of life and feed on His green pastures of love our hearts are deeply effected. That is where we experience what David describes in this Psalm, “He restores my soul, His rod and His staff comfort me”.

2 thoughts on “RESTORE AND COMFORT

  1. Even though I walk through the valley of shadow and death, YOU ARE WITH ME. HALLELUJAH. AWESOME BLOG. PRAISE YOU JESUS, YOU ARE GLORIOUS…. I WILL FEAR NO EVIL FOR YOU ARE WITH ME. I WILL FEAR NOT…. YOU KEEP ON LOVING AND YOU NEVER LET GO. LORD YOU NEVER LET GO OF ME…
    GOOD MORNING, PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH, WHEW HOO. LOVE YOU, WIKL SEE YOU IN CHURCH IN ABOUT 2HOURS, HALLELUJAH… WORSHIP THE GREAT I AM.. THANK YOU JESUS, THANK YOU FOR MY PASTOR…

  2. When that happens to me either he looks for me or it’s me looking for him! Sometimes out of nowhere he’ll start singing in tongues using my vessel. Then at times he and myself minister to people on the phone. Then at times we pray for people on facebook. Not to mention at times we give alms to the poor.He always moves upon my heart to give tithes and offerrings unto himself!

Leave a Reply

