SHAPING HIS LOVE INTO PRAYER

Psa. 45:1 ¶ My heart bursts its banks,

spilling beauty and goodness.

I pour it out in a poem to the king,

shaping the river into words:

Prayer is by nature supernatural. John Wesley said that God rules the world by the prayers of His children. How could that be? Actually, effective prayer originates with God, not with man. It is Spirit led, Spirit inspired, and Spirit empowered prayers that change the world. I learned about these kinds of prayers one night on a long ride in the back of a pickup truck in the mountains near Coos Bay, Oregon. I had an unusual compulsion to pray, to pray for my mom. I had no knowledge of anything going on in her life, but this sense of urgency to pray was on me. She had been in good health. I had a sudden, urgent sense of danger and an unusual anointing fell on me in that truck. After forty five minutes or so the urgency lifted. It wasn’t but a few days later that my mom had a life threatening stroke. I don’t know what was actually going on, somehow I know my prayers were God’s tool to visit my mom. Here is something Andrew Murray said about the power of prayer.

“When will Christians learn that prayer is an indispensable condition for what God wants to do on the earth? Intercession is the way by which people are converted. Without the power of the Holy Spirit given in answer to prayer, all our efforts are in vain. When spiritual leaders and believers unite in a covenant of prayer and testimony, the church will again flourish.

What can we do to stir up the spirit of intercession? Start praying for a few individuals. Pray for your children, for your relatives and friends, and for all with whom God brings you into contact. If you feel that you do not have the power to intercede, let the discovery humble you and drive you to the mercy seat. God wants every redeemed child of His to intercede for those who do not know Him. It is the vital breath of Christian life.”

So I wonder what God is doing today? Who does He want to visit? Maybe He is calling you to a time of prayer. The urgency I described when praying for my mom often comes in the form of compassion. At the end of the day, that’s all intercession is. It is the love of God directed at a specific person or group of persons. If you are a Christian, God’s love is shed abroad in your heart. Intercession is one of the reasons His love dwells in yo

4 thoughts on “SHAPING HIS LOVE INTO PRAYER

  1. Amen! We ask for spiritual leaders to continue to unite in prayer and testimony so that your church will flourish! We ask for compassion to flow in your children for those your placed in our lives. Let your kingdom come your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

  2. I believe THAT is the PRIESTLY part we as the church play in “KINGS AND PRIESTS” with God. The Holy Spirit has been burdening my heart for MORE APOSTLE PAUL’s !!! I feel the Holy Spirit is directing me to pray that God would once again TURN “Saul of Tarsus’ ” into Apostle Pauls. I am thinking that Saul of Tarsus was following his RELIGIOUS BELIEFS to persecute Christians BUT GOD SAW AN APOSTLE PAUL inside him and CAME TO HIM ON THE DAMASCUS Road. I am asking God to send HIS GLORY to appear to the people who are persecuting Christians in the WORLD (Lebanon, Syria and Iraq included) and TURN THEM INTO APOSTLE PAULs today. Jesus Christ the SAME yesterday, today, forever. These persecutors have seen the GLOW on the Christians’ faces just like Saul of Tarsus SAW when he held Stephen’s coat ! I want the GLORY OF GOD to appear to these persecutors AND “Turn them into” Apostle Pauls TODAY !!! Love,

  3. HALLELUJAH, GLORY, HONOR and PRAISE KING of KINGS, JESUS.. teach us to pray more.
    Reading a book from her right now. The book is called With CHRIST in the School of Prayer.
    Awesome book. Thanks you Mrs. Beth.
    Yes LORD lead us, have Your way HOLY SPIRIT.
    HALLELUJAH, awesome word/blog. Have an AWESOME day in our KING JESUS, Pastor Frank, love you all. :). Happy ANNIVERSARY, with love and many more…

Leave a Reply

