LOVE SICK

“I charge you, O daughters of Jerusalem, if ye find my beloved, that ye tell him, that I am sick of love.” —Song of Solomon 5:8

Have you ever been love sick? To the rational mind, love sick doesn’t make sense, but to the one struck with it, it is very real and can be quite painful. I remember my first reforestation trip going to the mountains of Oregon. On the first trip I had to leave Parris by herself with our new born son. We had been married just over one year and it was our first time of being separated. I was beside myself. I don’t want to get into the embarrassing details but let’s just say I was love sick. We were apart for only a week but it felt like a year to me. This is the condition Solomon is describing In Song of Solomon. In this powerful book, the Lord describes this love sick condition. When her lover is gone, the Shulamite can think of nothing else. She is helpless and hopeless without him. Charles Spurgeon speaks powerfully on this condition in his comments on today’s verse.

“Such is the language of the believer panting after present fellowship with Jesus, he is sick for his Lord. Gracious souls are never perfectly at ease except they are in a state of nearness to Christ; for when they are away from Him they lose their peace. The nearer to Him, the nearer to the perfect calm of heaven; the nearer to Him, the fuller the heart is, not only of peace, but of life, and vigor, and joy, for these all depend on constant intercourse with Jesus. What the sun is to the day, what the moon is to the night, what the dew is to the flower, such is Jesus Christ to us. What bread is to the hungry, clothing to the naked, the shadow of a great rock to the traveller in a weary land, such is Jesus Christ to us; and, therefore, if we are not consciously one with Him, little marvel if our spirit cries in the words of the Song, “I charge you, O ye daughters of Jerusalem, if ye find my beloved, tell Him that I am sick of love.”

Love sick cannot be faked. It is the spontaneous response to separation from the object of your love. Are you love sick today? Do you feel separated from the lover of your soul? That can be a good thing spurring you on to the greatest of all pursuits, the pursuit of God.

One thought on “LOVE SICK

Leave a Reply

