SHEPHERD’S ROD

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.Psalm 23:4

I remember when I first became a Christian I was a little confused by some of the Christian lingo, I used to call it Christianese. One of the phrase that bewildered me was when I heard Christians say that the Lord had spoken to them. That seemed so foreign to me. I never thought I could ever be spiritual enough to hear the Lord’s voice for myself. It wasn’t very long until I began to ‘get it’. As I began to have a regular, daily time, reading the Bible I began to understand how God was speaking to us. He speaks to us from His written word. The Bible is not a book of formulas, how tos, or philosophies. It is actually a living book, it is alive and active. As you take time to read it and ponder it’s message, the Lord will make certain verses come alive to you and begin to speak to you. This is the way we learn to hear His voice. Martin Luther loved the written word. He valued it so much he translated into the language of his German countrymen. His translation became the fountainhead of all the English translations of the Bible. Here are some comments from Luther about hearing the Lord’s voice.

“Even though David couldn’t see or hear the Lord, David said, “You are with me.” The Lord’s presence can’t be perceived by the five senses. Only faith enables us to know that he is there. Faith convinces us that the Lord is nearer to us than we are to ourselves. In what way is God near? He is near to us through his Word. When David said, “Your rod and your staff, they comfort me,” it’s as if he wanted to say, “Nothing else on earth can help me through my worries and troubles. God’s Word alone is my rod and staff. I will hang on to it and use it to pull myself up again. I will be certain that the Lord is with me and that he gives me courage in all anxieties and troubles. He defies the devil and the world and rescues me from my enemies.”

So why not start right now. Read and ponder God’s written Word. It is alive and He will speak His beautiful word into your life.

2 thoughts on “SHEPHERD’S ROD

  1. Amen!!thank you Jesus for your written word of god!! Thank you that it is beautiful, precious and it truth .thank you it a lamp unto my feet and light unto our path ,may we always drink from it and live in it!!

  2. YES, HALLELUJAH, ALWAYS WITH ME, THANK YOU JESUS!!!
    O HOW I LOVE YOUR PRECIOUS WORD/INSTRUCTIONS/BIBLE JESUS..
    I PONDER AND DIG AND SATURATE IN YOU ALL DAY LONG. HOW PRECIOUS AND LOVABLE IS YOUR PRESENCE.. SHOW US MORE JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT… O HOW YOU SPEAK LIFE INTO US WHEN WE SPEND TIME WITH YOU DAILY.. HALLELUJAH, YOU ARE GLORIOUS KING OF KINGS!!!!
    GOOD MORNING PASTOR FRANK, SITTING OUTSIDE ENJOYING THE WINDS AND THE SOUNDS OF THE BIRDS CHIRPING AND TALKING AS I READ YOUR BLOG, PRAISE YOU JESUS, WHAT A BEAUTIFUL DAY.
    PASTOR FRANK, HAVE A BEAUTIFUL AND AWESOME DAY IN OUR KING JESUS. LOVE YOU,
    LET THE WINDS BLOW LORD…. 🙂
    :), HALLELUJAH….

Leave a Reply

