CHOSEN BY THE SPIRIT

1Pet. 1:1 ¶ Peter, an apostle of Jesus Christ, ¶ To those who reside as aliens, scattered throughout Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia, and Bithynia, who are chosen
1Pet. 1:2 according to the foreknowledge of God the Father, by the sanctifying work of the Spirit, to obey Jesus Christ and be with His blood: May grace and peace be yours in the fullest measure.

Peter used an interesting phrase in this verse, “chosen according to foreknowledge”. Does that mean more than God knew who was going to be saved? If that’s all it means, then what does chosen have to do with it? I think the foreknowledge is more than the Lord knowing information about us, way more. The Lord actually knew us in the since that He loved us before we even existed. He knew Jeremiah before he was in his mother’s womb, I guess He must have known me that way too. There are some interesting observations about being chosen in Barclay’s Commentary

“The Christian is chosen to be consecrated by the Spirit. Luther said, “I believe that I cannot by my own reason or strength believe in Jesus Christ my Lord, or come to Him”. For the Christian the Holy Spirit is essential to every part of the Christian life and every step in it. It is the Holy Spirit who awakens within us the first faint longings for God and goodness. It is the Holy Spirit that convicts us of our sin and leads us to the Cross where that sin is forgiven. It is the Holy Spirit who enables us to be freed from the sins which have us in their grip and to gain the virtues which are the fruit of the Spirit. It is the Holy Spirit who gives us assurance that our sins are forgiven and that Jesus Christ is Lord. The beginning, the middle and the end of the Christian life are the work of the Holy Spirit.”

There is something more about today’s verse that really puts this whole chosen thing in perspective for me. Peter says we are chosen by the work of the Spirit. We are chosen by His alluring us. As a young man I was interested in everything but the Lord. He used a strange series of events to get me thinking. One look in His direction and I was done. I was captured by His love, the Holy Spirit reeled me in and I found myself consumed with Jesus Christ.

3 thoughts on “CHOSEN BY THE SPIRIT

  1. Thank you jesus, thank you for choosing us to be your sons and daughter ,thank you for alluring us would you father continue to allure us more and more and would you help us to be sensitive to others whom you are allure to come to Christ, in Jesus name. I love you Jesus happy to be your daughter!!

  2. Wow, YES INDEED, HALLELUJAH HALLELUJAH HALLELUJAH HALLELUJAH. THANK YOU JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT…. That’s EXACTLY right. One LOOK, one TOUCH, onecrack, HALLELUJAH…
    Keep making ME JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT.
    Totally CHANGED by YOU JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT.
    Awesome BLOG PASTOR FRANK, LOVE YOU.
    HALLELUJAH. I LOVE YOU JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT. YOU walk with me now and guide me everywhere I go… HALLELUJAH. YOU ARE ALL I WANT KING.
    I thirst for YOU JESUS…. POWERFUL and VERY BURNING FIRE FILLING, HALLELUJAH. WHEWHOO HALLELUJAH. THANK YOU for KNOWING my NAME

  3. How he allured me is a miracle in itself! First it was catholic church, then Sunday school at first assembly of God, after that Christian neighbors, while in the military it was unit Chaplains, and finally it was my sister leading me in the sinners prayer. Wow! Thanks God for getting my attention! Jesus Christ Rules!

Leave a Reply

