TOO DEEP FOR WORDS

Rom. 8:26 ¶ Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.

Praying in our heavenly language is a huge part of our personal life of intimacy with the Lord. Often times, the prayer language has been treated as unimportant or an insignificant optional add-on to our Christian experience. Actually, it is an essential part of our spiritual life, it is the doorway into the supernatural nature of our Christianity. The prayer language is actually the joining together of our human spirit with the Holy Spirit, He awakens and empowers our inner man. Without this aspect of our Christian faith we have limited revelation, trying to comprehend spiritual things with human reasoning. As Paul taught, when I pray in the Spirit it is not me who prays but the Lord who is praying in me, through me, and for me. Andrew Murray probably wasn’t one who spoke in tongues but he served as somewhat of a prophet living just before the Pentecostal outpouring of the early twentieth century. Here are some of his thoughts about the Spirit helping us pray.

“The children of God have not only the Son of God, the great High Priest, to intercede for them; they have not only the privilege to ask in faith what they desire and the promise that it shall be given them; they also have the Holy Spirit who intercedes for them in the depths of their being.

We are called to separate ourselves from the world and yield wholeheartedly to the leading of the Holy Spirit. He intercedes for us in a way that surpasses all our expectations. Therefore, we must surrender ourselves to silent expectation while we wait on the Lord and the Holy Spirit prays within us.”

I love the supernatural nature of the heavenly language. I can be in a state of discouragement or just in a time of spiritual apathy and begin to yield to the Holy Spirit praying in other tongues. When I press in to the Lord in this way He never fails to come through. This is what David was prophesying about when he spoke of turning mourning into dancing (Ps.30:11) and what Isaiah meant when he spoke of the refreshing and rest from the stammering tongue (Isa.28:11).So go ahead, yield to the Holy Spirit. Before you know it you will be enjoying the magnificent presence of the Lord.

4 thoughts on “TOO DEEP FOR WORDS

  1. Amen. Yes father thankful for our heavenly language ,love our intimacy that we have with you ,thank you for the intersession that surpasses our expectations.. Thank you for our heavenly language!!!!!!

  2. HALLELUJAH, YES, AMEN. O HOW I LOVE YOUR PRESENCE. HALLELUJAH. THANK YOU JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT. WHEWHOO HALLELUJAH.. JOY, JOY and more JOY. THANK YOU JESUS FOR my HEAVENLY language. HALLELUJAH, HAVE YOUR WAY JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT….

    Good morning, PASTOR FRANK, LOVE YOU. HALLELUJAH, have a blessed and FILLED DAY in our KING JESUS… HALLELUJAH, WHEWHOO be FILLED… HALLELUJAH

  3. I find myself often times trying to pray with my understanding, almost cautiously thinking about what word should come out of my mouth next as I am trying to “pray correctly” I believe its important to “line up” with God’s Word when praying for it to be the most effective, and I have long since stopped throwing out prayers like tossing coins in a fountain, hoping something good will come of it. Praying has become porportionately more passionate as intimacy with God has deepened, however, I still often find myself “having no idea what to pray” It’s very fortunately in our favor as “Spirit Filled” Christians to be able to “jump to” or even “back and forth” from praying in our heavenly language. When I complete my prayer time using this gift, I can rest confidently knowing even I couldn’t screw up what really needs to be accomplished.

Leave a Reply

