IN US AND ON US

John 4:14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Acts 1:8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

I know sometimes, when you are reading a devotion, you skip over the scripture and move quickly into the topic for today. Today, take an extra moment and read these two passages carefully. If you pay close attention you will see the two basic  ways the anointing of the Holy Spirit works in a Christian. In John 4:14, Jesus is talking about the anointing within us. The Holy Spirit within satisfies our thirsty soul and brings healing and completeness to our hearts. In this passage, the Lord is talking to a woman who is trying to find her satisfaction in the things of this world. Jesus told her if she would come to Him and drink she would never thirst again. There would be an artesian well of living water springing up inside of her.

In the second verse in today’s devotion, Jesus is prophesying about an anointing that would come upon His followers. In the gospel of Luke, He said we would be clothed with power from on high. The picture being painted is as if someone was putting on a coat. This coat is actually the supernatural enabling power of God. So looking at both of these passages we see that the Lord promised us a two-fold relationship with the Holy Spirit: the Spirit within us and the Spirit upon us.

Every Christian has the need in their lives for these two dynamic functions of the Holy Spirit. Obviously, we all face challenges to our faith every day. From suggestive clothing, widespread use of alcohol, and an overall casual approach to deliverance from sin, it is hard to be a Christian. The world looks for its identity and its pleasure in the diet of sin that the church casually overlooks. Only drinking from that fountain within, like the woman at the well, can take away that nagging itch that draws us to sin. Drinking from that river in our bellies  keeps us contented in Christ, free from the temptations and the pleasures of this world. The anointing upon us is also a powerful component in our lives. Its basic function is to anoint us to minister to the hurting people who are all around us. So today, determine to draw strength from the two anointings of the Spirit; the anointing within and the mantle upon.

4 thoughts on “IN US AND ON US

  1. Excellent word. I like to run and this word makes me think of my preparation. I eat the right foods to give me strength on the inside and I wear the right shoes and clothes to protect and support me on the outside. The Holy Spirit empowers me internally and protects and supports me externally.

  2. I agree, excellent word, including the preface about not letting your flesh skip over the scripture. Its like trying to eat dessert before or instead of your dinner. We all know what the results of that can be. Another thing that blessed me about today’s blog was that we got all Pastor Frank’s commentary, not that I don’t get a lot out of and enjoy the past men and women of God that are often quoted, because I do greatly, however, personally after 33 years of observing, listening to, and getting to know my pastor, given the choice, at this point, I would rather hear his take. I’ve thought about this a long time, and approve this message!

  3. I woke up singing “I choose to be holy, set apart for You my Master, ready to do Your will!” Love your messages Pastor Frank! May Our Lord Jesus continue to pour out His anointing on you all and the ministry of Victory Fellowship.

  4. HALLELUJAH times a billion, all the way into the future and MORE…

    JESUS, I LOVE YOU KING!!!!! HOLY SPIRIT, have Your Way ALL DAY LONG…
    Good afternoon, HALLELUJAH, Pastor Frank, love you… HALLELUJAH, PRAISE YOU JESUS, KING OF KINGS.. have a blessed day in OUR KING, Pastor

Leave a Reply

