I AM YOUR GOD

Psa. 50:7 ¶ “Hear, O my people, and I will speak; O Israel, I will testify against you.  I am God, your God.

It’s funny the different reasons people pray or believe in God. They say there are no atheists in a fox hole, death has a way of bringing us to a place of faith in God. This tends to indicate that one reason people believe in God is that nobody wants to die, and nobody wants to go to hell. Another source or reason for believing in God is perceived need. The need could be financial, health related, family issues, or a vast array of other problems. So need or problems is often a good reason to pray. But this is the elephant in the room, shouldn’t we pray for the greatest of all rewards? ‘What would that be?’, you ask. Why that would be God Himself. He even said in His word that when we seek Him with all of our heart we would find Him. He also told Abraham that He would be Abraham’s exceeding great reward. Augustine was all about this idea of seeing God as our reward. He even called Him the sweetest of all pleasures. Here are Augustine’s thoughts from today’s verse.
“When then shall I speak to thee? If thou hearest. When hearest thou? If thou art my people. For, “Hear, my people:” thou hearest not if thou art an alien people. “Hear, my people, and I will speak to thee: Israel, and I will testify to thee.” …For “Thy God,” is properly said to that man whom God doth keep more as one of His family, as though in His household, as though in His peculiar: “Thy God am I.” What wilt thou more? Requirest thou a reward from God, so that God may give thee something; so that what He hath given thee may be thine own? Behold God Himself, who shall give, is thine own. What richer than He? Gifts thou wast desiring, thou hast the Giver Himself. “God, thy God, I am.”
The Bible, when taken at face value is shocking. We are called God’s children and He calls Himself our very own God. If that is true, then we have a life better than anyone can even imagine. God Himself, the Creator of all pleasures, has made Himself available to us. It is in knowing Him and enjoying Him that our lives finally find purpose.

2 thoughts on “I AM YOUR GOD

  1. HALLELUJAH, GLORY HONOR AND PRAISE KING OF KINGS, (3 IN1)… WHEWHOO!!!

    I LOVE YOU!!!!! 🙂

    GOOD MORNING PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH. WHAT AN AWESOME AND POWERFUL CREATOR WE HAVE AND SERVE…. I LOVE YOU PASTOR, STAY STRONG AND BOLD, KEEP SHINING FOR THE KING, HALLELUJAH…. FIRE!!!! 🙂

  2. God you are what my heart desires! Thank you my Lord Jesus Christ! I truly love to converse with your father Jesus! Thanks Father God for having sent us the Holy Spirit! Knowing that you have sent him to guide us in your ways. The words in the bible continue to feed my very soul God! Once again are we writing late into the night.
    It’s time for a coffee break God. You know how my flesh acts up from time to time! While wanting coffee my spirit desires our continued conversation Lord! You have given me so many gifts Lord God! Will have to continue this talk until sleep comes upon my flesh Lord!

Leave a Reply

