LOST TREASURE

Eph. 3:18,19 may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. 
‘Am I enough for you?’ That was the strangest question I had ever been asked. This is what the Lord asked me in the fall of 1994 when I was laying on the floor of our church in one of our services. I had never thought of God on those terms. He was my Savior, my Healer, my Provider, and my Counselor. I had never thought of God in the way quite like His question demanded; He was the treasure. Not His gifts but Him. For the first time I began to understand what the Lord meant when He called Himself jealous. He wanted my affection and was unwilling to share it with anyone or anything else. I was beginning to see the seriousness of revival; it is all about the heart. In today’s scripture the Lord describes the depths of His love for us. This love captures us and actually becomes the foundation of our love for Him. Here is how Matthew Henry sees it. 
“The breadth, and length, and depth, and height. By enumerating these dimensions, the apostle designs to signify the exceeding greatness of the love of Christ, the unsearchable riches of his love, which is higher than heaven, deeper than hell, longer than the earth, and broader than the sea. Some describe the particulars thus: By the breadth of it we may understand the extent of it to all ages, nations, and ranks of men; by the length of it, its continuance from everlasting to everlasting; by the depth of it, its stooping to the lowest condition, with a design to relieve and save those who have sunk into the depths of sin and misery; by its height, its entitling and raising us up to the heavenly happiness and glory.”
I finally began to get it; His love is unsearchable. It is in tasting the depths and height of His love that my love for Him is birthed. That brings me back to the floor of our church that Monday morning in September of 1994. He was after my heart. He was winning my heart by pouring out unprecedented measures of His love on my life. I finally had my answer. He was more than enough! Better than fame, success, money, or anything this life could offer. He became my Treasure. 

One thought on “LOST TREASURE

  1. Amen! Father we ask to continue to work n our hearts by pouring out your measures of your love on us Lord,! We ask for more of you father!! In Jesus name

Leave a Reply

