KISS THE SON

Psa. 2:12 Kiss the Son, lest he be angry, and you perish in the way, for his wrath is quickly kindled. Blessed are all who take refuge in him. 
Our church changed quite dramatically back in the mid 1990’s. The preaching changed, the worship changed, we changed. The Lord was calling us to a new place of intimacy. Some people couldn’t handle the change. For some, it was the intimidation caused by spiritual intimacy. I often think about the stir when David Ruis’s song True love was introduced in our church. I will let the words speak for themselves.

Jesus I need to know true love

Deeper than the love found on earth

Take me into the King’s chamber

Cause my love to mature

Let me know the kisses of Your mouth

Let me feel Your warm embrace

Let me smell the fragrance of Your touch

Let me see Your lovely face

Take me away with You

Even so, Lord, come

I love You Lord

I love You more than life

My heart, my flesh yearn for You, Lord

To love You is all I can do

You have become my sole passion

Cause my love to be true
I guess the part that got to people was the kisses part. Kissing the Lord was just a little too much for some. It’s funny because back in the 1600’s they were dealing with some of the same issues. Here is some insight from the Sermons of John Donne, D.D., Dean of St. Paul’s, 1621–1631 from today’s verse.
“That is, embrace him, depend upon him all these ways: as thy kinsman, as thy sovereign; at thy going, at thy coming; at thy reconciliation, in the truth of religion in thyself, in a peaceable unity with the church, in a reverent estimation of those men, and those means, whom he sends. Kiss him, and be not ashamed of kissing him; it is that which the spouse desired, “I would kiss thee, and not be despised.” SOS 7:1. If thou be despised for loving Christ in his Gospel, remember that when David was thought base, for dancing before the ark, his way was to be more base. If thou be thought frivolous for thrusting in at service, in the forenoon, be more frivolous, and come again in the afternoon: The more thou troublest thyself, or art troubled by others for Christ, the more peace thou hast in Christ.“Kiss the Son,” and he will not be angry;”
I love this quote, “kiss Him and be not ashamed of kissing Him”. Intimacy and freedom always cause a stir. Dancing before Him, shouting His praises, laying prostrate in His presence or a simple kiss; all these are are responses to His love. These things are the signs of true worship.

3 thoughts on “KISS THE SON

  1. To get close enough to kiss and be kissed, there is no place here on earth more beautiful and priceless, better than any vacation destination.

  2. WHEWHOO, HALLELUJAH,
    GLORY HONOR AND PRAISE KING OF KINGS!
    THE TOUCH AND CLOSENESS WITH YOU HALLELUJAH! I LOVE YOU JESUS.
    KEEP FILLING ME JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT, OVERFLOWING ALL IN YOU AND THROUGH YOU.
    I HOW I LOVE YOUR TOUCH/PRESENCE.
    HOLY, HOLY, HOLY!
    GOOD MORNING, PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH, HAVE A BLESSED AND FILLED DAY WITH our AWESOME KING OF KINGS. JESUS. I LOVE YOU.

Leave a Reply

