COMFORT OF THE HOLY GHOST

Acts 9:31 ¶ So the church throughout all Judea and Galilee and Samaria had peace and was being built up. And walking in the fear of the Lord and in the comfort of the Holy Spirit, it multiplied. 
One of my earliest and fondest memories of my childhood was a funeral of all things. I must have been about four years old and my dad took me on a road trip from our home in South Carolina to the place he was raised in some small country town in Georgia. I don’t even know the name of the town, if you could even call it a town. His Uncle Clevie had died and we were going to pay our respects. I remember how special I felt riding alone with my dad through those winding country roads and staying up late with him to ‘wake the body’. The think that struck my memory the most was that funeral service. Even as a young child I recognized an atmosphere that I had never felt before. My dad’s relatives attended a Pentecostal Church, you know, the shouting and singing kind of church. I remember lots of loud singing, tambourines, crying, and shouts of joy. Yeah, you heard me right, joy at a funeral. Even as a child I recognized that these people didn’t just talk about ‘going to a better place’. They believed in that place called heaven and sang until heaven came into that church. It’s been almost 60 years since that funeral but I can still remember the atmosphere I felt there. Actually that is the atmosphere church is supposed to experience. It’s what I want more of in my church. Here are some thoughts from Matthew Henry on today’s verse.
“The comfort of the Holy Ghost was their consolation, and that which they made their chief joy. They had recourse to the comfort of the Holy Ghost, and lived upon that, not only in days of trouble and affliction, but in days of rest and prosperity. The comforts of the earth, when they had the most free and full enjoyment of them, could not content them without the comfort of the Holy Ghost. Observe the connection of these two: when they walked in the fear of the Lord, then they walked in the comfort of the Holy Ghost. Those are most likely to walk cheerfully that walk circumspectly.”
Why was there sadness and joy at that funeral? They were sad because Uncle Clevie had died, they were happy because of the comfort of the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is real, He will comfort you in whatever circumstance you find yourself in, you just have to take time to let Him.

Leave a Reply

