GRACE RULES

Rom. 5:21 NLT So just as sin ruled over all people and brought them to death, now God’s wonderful grace rules instead, giving us right standing with God and resulting in eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. 

I can still remember the guilt I felt about my sinful life before I became a Christian. I knew the things I was doing was wrong, I just couldn’t stop. I wanted to, at least part of me wanted to, but somehow my will was not free. My will was enslaved to my sinful nature and controlled my actions through sinful desires. That’s why I love grace so much. Not that modern version of cheap grace popularly called “the grace message”. I’m talk about biblical grace. The kind that not only forgives but liberates. That’s what C.S. Lewis was describing in this quote.

“Human will becomes truly our own when it is wholly God’s, and this is one of the many senses in which he that loses his soul shall find it.”
Lewis is describing the freedom from sin that comes when we, by the grace of God, yield our lives to Christ. This is the freedom our hearts are longing for, this is the only way to be finally free from those disgusting sinful pleasures that can torment our souls. This life I am describing is not just a one time shot, it is a new way to live our lives. Andrew Murray describes this in his comments on today’s verse. 

“Remember that God’s grace is stronger than the power of sin and that you are more than a conqueror through Him that loves you. This is a sure word. They that receive the abundance of grace reign already in this life through Jesus Christ. I am sure that by this time you have noticed how important it is to approach the throne of grace every day with a deep sense of need, but fully assured that you will receive the power to conquer sin. Daily fellowship with God will lead to a rich life full of good deeds—a life that will bear witness to the abundant grace of God.”
So what is ruling in your life? Maybe you are the way I was, good intentions without the ability to follow through. That’s where grace comes in. Grace is powerful, powerful enough to forgive you and empower you to live the kind of life your heart really wants to live. So I say, no longer let sin rule in your body. From now on you can say ‘GRACE RULES’.

Leave a Reply

