JOYFUL NOISE

Psa. 100:1 ¶ Make a joyful noise to the LORD, all the earth!

What exactly is a joyful noise. As ‘they’ say, I may not be able to define it but I know what it is when I hear it. What kind of joyful noises come to your mind? Maybe the sounds of children laughing at the playground, or the joyful cry when you passed your test, or maybe the sound of celebration heard when the Saints won the Superbowl, or even the shouts of joy at your wedding. Joyful noises come in all different sizes, shapes, and flavors. The one thing they have in common; it is that distinctive, unmistakeable feeling of unrestrained joy.

I’ll never forget the revival services that began in our church in August of 1994. I had never seen such joy anywhere, especially in church. There were shouts of laughter, belly laughs, giggles, laughter which took people’s breath away, laughing with tears, and shouts of laughter. There was laughter accompanied by jumping, running, and falling into trance like states on the floor. There was laughing in their sleep (my favorite), laughing when trying to preach or testify, and even laughing in the midst of horrible trials of every stripe. It was hard if not impossible to understand but one thing everyone knew was that it was supernatural in nature. Some accused it of being the flesh (pretty hard to fake that kind of joy), and others said it was demonic. I guess the thing that sold me was that most everyone effected by this joy found a new intimacy with the Lord. They talked about Jesus, sang about Jesus, and wanted to read their Bibles more and going to church became quite addictive. The conclusion that I came to was that God was being glorified, it had to be Him. Charles Spurgeon spoke about this joyful noise in his comments on this verse.

“Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all ye lands. The original word signifies a glad shout, such as loyal subjects give when their king appears among them. Our happy God should be worshipped by a happy people; a cheerful spirit is in keeping with his nature, his acts, and the gratitude which we should cherish for his mercies.”

I am so glad the Lord visited our church with the joy of heaven. I know there is more of God available to us in this life. How can I be sure? The Lord Who pours out His presence, which is literally chock full of joy, is putting a hunger in our hearts for more. I think the hunger itself is proof that more joy is on the way.

5 Replies to “JOYFUL NOISE”

  1. Amen!! Amen! Yes father we ask for more, we thank you that you fill those who are hungry for more of you .Matthew 5:6 blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness for they shall be filled.we ask for more Lord more joy,and thank you Jesus more is on the way!! In your precious name!!
    🙂

  2. I am so thankful to have been a recipent of the Joy when it hit our church in Aug 1994. My Mom had just come to live with me Aug 18. She had just left a rehab hospital in Asheville NC due to Congestive Heart Failure. Long Story short she had a quadruple by pass on my 50th birthday, Sept 1. She never left ICU and passed away Sept 9 and was buried Sept 11. I had to be the one to tell them to take her off life support. My brother, sister and I and spouses stayed another week in the mountains of NC trying to get our affairs in order and go through things. I had spoken with Debra Hoffman and she said “you are not going to know church when you get back”. WOW was she right. I was so dry and parched spiritually that I was like a giant sponge soaking it all in. I got in the prayer line (Lord knows I needed it) and for the first time in my life was slain in the spirit screaming in laughter. As I was on the floor I thought “why are you laughing? You just buried your Mom). I am not usually extremely emotional but as fast as I laughed I cried about a minute. I loved my Mom intensely, we spoke every day long distance and it was not natural for me to not grieve her death. I mentioned to a friend nearby on the floor that I wish she had been here to experience this new thing. My friend told me she was at the mouth of the River now. That was my entire experience of grieving my loss. God is so amazing. The church was in day and night, daily services by this time and I was there every time I was not working. He did truly restoreth my soul. I wrote Pastor Frank a note telling him because of the Revival I had returned to my “First Love”. I did not know that many others were expressing this same thing. I never grieved again over Mom. Through the years of Revival God met me in so many places on the floor and healed my inner person. I had adult children at this time and it would be unbelievable if I told you some of the things I was going through. Thank you Pastors for embracing Revival and standing in the face of opposition. We are so much stronger and richer for the experience. Thank you Jesus.

  3. The harvest and the birth pangs are among the experiences headed our way, and I agree with Jean in thanking our pastors for embracing the revival or what ever direction the Holy Spirit is leading and standing in the face of opposition even when its “friends” I don’t know why some thought God challenging them past their comfort zone was “flesh”, I assume it to be a fairly regular experience. Not that we all don’t miss God’s leading from time to time, I just know if the song in my heart is Frank Sinatra’s “My Way” I’m off on my own.

  4. HOLY, HOLY, HOLY… HALLELUJAH!
    POWERFUL!
    HAVE YOUR WAY JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT, THANK YOU FATHER! (3IN1) 🙂

    FILL US UP, OVERFLOWING, HALLELUJAH. 🙂
    AWESOME BLOG, PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH…. I LOVE YOU, PASTOR.
    GLORY, HONOR AND PRAISE TO OUR KING OF KINGS, JESUS… 🙂 HAVE A BLESSED AND FILLED DAY IN OUR KING, JESUS.

Leave a Reply

