FEAR AND TREMBLING

Phil. 2:12 ¶ Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling; Phil. 2:13 for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.
We don’t hear much about the fear and trembling part anymore. I think we need a good, healthy dose of the fear of the Lord so that we will understand the importance of working out our own salvation. I think many of us have been captured by ‘easy believism’ and think as long as we have ‘prayed the prayer’ everything is okay. Really?! Is that all there is to it or maybe there is quite a bit more. If heaven is real and eternity is real then maybe we need to take a good hard look at our spiritual condition.

You see, when we ‘prayed the prayer’ the work of Christ just began in us as a seed. Spiritual growth takes time. We must spend time in His presence and bath ourselves in His written word. This is where salvation takes root in us and begins to grow. Here are some thoughts from the Fire Bible on today’s verse.
“In the process of living out our spiritual salvation through faith in Christ, there must be an element of “fear and trembling.” This does not refer to an attitude of fright, doubt or anxiety, but a serious reverence and vigorous pursuit of God’s purposes. Yet, the fear of the Lord is more than merely “reverent awe and trust,” as it is often defined; it includes a deep awe and sober awareness of God’s power, holiness and judgment against sin. All of God’s people must possess a holy fear that grows out of our true awareness of God’s supreme power and authority and our deepest sense of accountability to him. The Lord describes someone with this attitude as “the one I esteem … who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word”. The fear of the Lord is not a destructive fear, but a redeeming fear that brings people closer to God by causing them to turn away from all evil. Godly fear leads to blessing, moral purity, life and salvation.”

Holy fear comes from tasting the reality of God. Holiness is more than a doctrine and His power is very real. Standing in His presence like Moses did at the burning bush drastically changes our perspective of life. It’s in that place we begin to work out our salvation, trembling with joy in His presence.

4 thoughts on “FEAR AND TREMBLING

  1. All of God’s people must possess a holy fear that grows out of our true awareness of God’s supreme power and authority and our deepest sense of accountability to him .Selah

  2. My Grandfather told me numerous times that I need to fear the Lord. I thought gramps was just old and out of touch. Everything I knew ABOUT God lead me to believe He loved me and I was ok.
    On 1/24/2005 I met Christ, He met me and radical changed happened. I still did not have “fear of the Lord”. Then one day God visited me at my home like He never visited me before. His presence was overwhelming. The moment He stepped in my house I hit the floor and face down worshipped for who knows how long. It seemed like forever and it felt like just a moment.
    It was then I experience “fear of the Lord”. I remember not wanting to look up to catch a glimpse of His feet knowing I would die.
    Now, I know better the fear of the Lord. For me it took Him manifesting Himself to me in such a way that it was no longer knowing about but knowing the fear of the Lord.
    Gramps was right, we all need to fear the Lord.

  3. Whewhoo HALLELUJAH, POWERFUL, VERY POWERFUL IS OUR KING JESUS CHRIST…
    HALLELUJAH, HOLY, HOLY, HOLY…

    PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH, LOVE YOU, HAVE A BLESSED AND FILLED AND POWERFUL DAY IN OUR KING OF KINGS… JESUS … DUNAMUS POWER… 🙂

Leave a Reply

