MORE THAN HEALED BODIES AND FULL BELLIES

As the living Father hath sent Me, and I live by the Father: so he that eateth Me, even he shall live by Me. John 6:57

This was a major turning point in the ministry of Jesus. He was beginning to prepare His closest followers for the real reason He had come, to lay His life down as a sin offering on a Roman cross. To the jewish mind this whole concept was unthinkable. First of all, they could never imagine Jesus actually being killed. He was bigger than life; He cured sicknesses with a touch, raised people from the dead with a word, He even fed thousands of His followers supernaturally. There was no way that could see Him being killed. Secondly, the whole eating His flesh and drinking His blood thing, this was way more than their jewish minds could bare. Many of these followers became offended and left for good. Here are some thoughts from Spurgeon on today’s verse. 
“We live by virtue of our union with the Son of God. As God-man Mediator, the LORD Jesus lives by the self-existent Father who has sent Him, and in the same manner we live by the Savior who has quickened us. He who is the source of our life is also the sustenance of it. Living is sustained by feeding. We must support the spiritual life by spiritual food, and that spiritual food is the LORD Jesus. Not His life, or death, or offices, or work, or word alone, but Himself, as including all these. On Jesus Himself we feed. This is set forth to us in the LORD’s Supper, but it is actually enjoyed by us when we meditate upon our LORD, believe in Him with appropriating faith, take Him into ourselves by love, and assimilate Him by the power of the inner life.”
This was the whole point of why Jesus came. He came to bring us into a new relationship with Him. All along He was looking for intimacy. At the end of the day He wasn’t so concerned about healing sick bodies or feeding hungry bellies. That was His way to reach our hearts. It was our heart He was after all along. Jesus was offering more than anyone was looking for. They were looking to be cared for in this life; He came to introduce us to a whole new kind of life. 

5 thoughts on “MORE THAN HEALED BODIES AND FULL BELLIES

  1. Its our job to simply tell (and live out the changes from) what we have experienced so far. I does not matter if we are articulate or eloquent in our delivery, because for most of us, that isn’t even possible. If we are listening and stay aware so God can direct us, He will lead us to whom He is after. Why God has offered us a part in all this, as unreliable as we are, is beyond me. He even rewards us in this life and the one we are all looking forward to, even though we are less than perfect on a daily basis. If you allow Him to let you see thru His eyes, your heart could not take passing up an opportunity to give life to another He is after.

    1. Yes , filled with the Holy Spirit , watching for opportunity , hands and feet . For God to allow us , imperfect as we can be ,to plant or water is blessing . Sean I like your response , and agree !

  2. It ALWAYS BREAKS MY HEART to THINK ABOUT HOW HUMAN JESUS WAS when HE walked as a man on EARTH !!! SUCH LOVE !!!

  3. Interesting! In 2010 I am again before the Lord for healing. Very un-human I told the Lord that the use of my legs is worthless without Him in my life. I had tasted something greater then physical healing and an easy life, by human standards.
    Next during radiation treatments I found myself crying for healing then in the midst of this prayer I began to thank God for this opportunity to share Him to those with hopelessness. (Not a human response)
    Recently I found myself struggling with my circumstances and missing my close relationship with God. To confirm my concern God spoke to me Joel 2: 12-13. Freaked me out at first until I recognized He was calling me back. I returned to my daily routines to no avail. WHY?
    I had not returned to Him but replaced time with Him with my ROUTINE. This is the scripture He used to high lite my problem, Is 29:13. The fear of God had me on high alert.
    I dropped my routine and focused on hearing and feeling His leading and BAM – I am enjoying Him again. Thank You Lord for caring enough to correct me and providing me with true food!
    \o/

  4. THANK YOU, FATHER, JESUS, HOLY SPIRIT!!!

    ALL YOU EVER WANTED WAS MY HEART. 🙂
    IT’S ALL YOURS KING! I LOVE YOU!

    HAVE YOUR WAY JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT WITH ME ALL DAY LONG/FOREVER!
    YOUR GREAT NAME, JESUS, WORTHY IS THE LAMB THAT WAS SLAINED FOR US!!!! HOLY, HOLY, HOLY!!!! YOUR POWERFUL NAME!!!! YOU ARE HIGHER LIFTED UP!!!!!

    GOOD EVENING, PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH. HAVE A BLESSED AND FILLED EVENING, LOVE YOU PASTOR…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

