THE WAY

I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.
John 14:6
This is the main scripture the Lord used to bring me to salvation. It had been buried away in my memories from childhood. You know, one of those Sunday School memorization verses. They don’t really mean anything; or do they? This one came back from somewhere deep in my brain; it was being reserved by God for a special day. This verse came to me out of nowhere on Bourbon Street on some horrible August Saturday night in 1973. A member of some cult was witnessing to me when the lightning bolt from my past struck. I saw the young cult member’s face but my mind was being flooded with this word. In that moment the fear of God began to strike my soul. I was away from God and I finally realized I was lost and needed God. Martin Luther recognized the power of this verse. Here are some of his thoughts.
“Thomas thought it was strange that Christ was saying, “You know the way to the place where I am going,” when Jesus had said nothing about where he was going. Thomas was thinking in simple and concrete terms. He was envisioning a road that a person takes from one city to another or a path that a person walks on. The disciples were saying, “We don’t know the way. We don’t even know through which city gate you’re planning to leave. How can we know the way?” Christ replied to their worldly thoughts, “Here’s what I mean: You know the way. In other words, you know the person who is the Way—me. For you see me and know that I am the Christ, your Lord and Savior. You are my disciples, for you have heard my message and have seen my miracles. Since you know me, you also know the way and everything else you need to know.” This is remarkable. All our teaching and faith should center and depend on Christ. Setting aside all of our wisdom and skill, we should know nothing except the crucified Christ (1 Corinthians 2:2). From God’s perspective, the highest wisdom and knowledge above all other wisdom and knowledge is to truly know this person Christ. We come to God through Christ alone.”
So have you found the way to God or are you still wandering, helplessly trapped in the delusions of this world? We have all been there, hoping for change but stuck in the quagmire of sinful pleasures. There is only one way out of the mess. Jesus told us in clear words, He is the only way to God. It is so simple that many of us miss it. It had been right there in my memory all those years. When I was ready He was right there. Maybe someone reading this is finally ready. If so, call upon the name of the Lord. I promise, you won’t be disappointed.

4 thoughts on “THE WAY

    1. I found a sermon by Spurgeon on this very scripture. Lengthy but worth the time.
      A Sermon (No. 245)
      Delivered on Sabbath Morning, March 27th, 1859, by the REV. C.H. SPURGEON
      at the Music Hall, Royal Surrey Gardens.

    2. WOW—just did a word study on the word – way, truth and life. It does not change the scripture as simple as it is to understand but it sure opened it up larger then I would have guessed.
      Now to interject that scripture into the entire discourse. A lot to chew on as I go through the rest of my day. \o/

  1. I am so thankful that my 1st Pastor, Here Melilli, stressed constantly that this Christian life meant having a relationship with Jesus! Religion is not the way, cults are not the way, being politically correct is not the way. HE is the way. What an awesome verse. Thank you, Pastor Frank.

Leave a Reply

