THAT MAKES IT PERSONAL

Gal. 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and himself for me.

We are all a strange mixture of beliefs, feelings, attitudes, and preferences. Our God is not like that. We may love someone for various selfish reasons that we are not even in touch with ourselves. Our feelings for people and even beliefs are like the waves of the sea, changing with the seasons and the tides. The Lord is totally different. He is always full on, personal, and consistent. He gives Himself fully, even to the one sheep that has strayed from the herd. He loves you endlessly and personally and will go to amazing extremes to win you to Himself. Henry Parry Liddon spoke powerfully about these traits of our God.
“But when God, the Perfect Being, loves the creature of his hand, he cannot thus divide his love. He must perforce love with the whole directness, and strength, and intensity of his Being; for he is God, and therefore incapable of partial and imperfect action. He must give himself to the single soul with as absolute a completeness as if there were no other being besides it, and, on his side, man knows that this gift of himself by God is thus entire; and in no narrow spirit of ambitious egotism, but as grasping and representing the literal fact, he cries, “My God.” Therefore does this word enter so largely into the composition of Hebrew names. Men loved to dwell upon that wondrous relation of the Creator to their personal life which is so strikingly manifested. Therefore, when God had “so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him shall not perish, but have everlasting life, “we find St. Paul writing to the Galatians as if his own single soul had been redeemed by the sacrifice of Calvary: ‘He loved me, and gave himself for me.’”
I think it was the personal nature of Paul’s conversion that really got him. You can almost hear the quiver in his voice in Galatians when he said, ‘He loved me, and gave Himself for me’. So when someone says , ‘Don’t take it personally’ I am reminded of this, personally is the only way I can take it.

One thought on “THAT MAKES IT PERSONAL

  1. Personal indeed! What matchless love! He draws us to Himself with His everlasting love. Thank you, Father. Together, we praise Him for ALL that He is!

Leave a Reply

