FALLING ACORNS AND CRAZY SQUIRRELS

2Cor. 9:10 ¶ He who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your seed for sowing and increase the harvest of your righteousness. 

God is an incredible giver. I saw it again, quite by accident, this week. I was walking my dog at my house, just enjoying the quiet outside and the beauty of God’s creation. Suddenly I heard this sound all around me. It was the noise of something dropping over and over again. It was all around me when I realized what it was. Acorns. The yard is full of oak trees and they were literally raining down acorns all around me. That’s when I was taken again by the excessive nature of God. Thousands of acorns in my yard. How many acorns do you really need for just a few trees? Seeds were falling down all around me and then I got it; the Lord provides for us by His seeds. God’s provision is constant and excessive, it never stops. Think of all the acorns in the world. They are not only seeds for sowing they are also food for the squirrels. Here is how Adam Clarke explains today’s verse.   

“The word ‘epichoregeo’, he that ministers, is very emphatic; it signifies he who leads up the chorus, it means also to join to, associate, to supply or furnish one thing after another so that there be no want or chasm. Thus God is represented, in the course of his providence, associating and connecting causes and effects; keeping every thing in its proper place and state of dependence on another, and all upon himself; so that summer and winter, heat and cold, seed time and harvest, regularly succeed each other. Thus God leads up this grand chorus of causes and effects: provides the seed to the hand of the sower; gives him skill to discern the times when the earth should be prepared for the grain, and when the grain should be sowed; blesses the earth, and causes it to bring forth and bud, so that it may again minister seed to the sower and bread to the eater; and, by a watchful providence, preserves every thing. The figure is beautiful, and shows us the grand system of causes and effects, all directed by and under the immediate guidance and government of God himself.”
The Lord even convinces the squirrels to bury some of their acorns in the ground. I have to be as sharp as the squirrel, I can’t eat everything the Lord gives me, some of it has to be planted. 

3 thoughts on “FALLING ACORNS AND CRAZY SQUIRRELS

  1. SQUIRLES – reminds me of Buddy D calling people “SQUIRLES” in a negative way. Maybe squirles have more insight then most of us. Hum!?!

  2. Funny Pastor, I was working at a customers house this week, something i am trying to put an end to, ….. but i needed the money, so i took the job, and everytime i walked outside on the front lawn, i kept hearing a commotion, as if someone was hitting a garbage can, strang -odd- unsettling. at the close of the day, i realized it was ‘dem dang hey-korns’, Being a lil slow, as my wife says, i didnt put 2 and 2 together. Your sermon sun morn. I have never been on this blog til tonight and i ran across the acorn blog. funny. Well in case you dont hear it enough, you are appreciated and you are a blessing. I hope thats ok to say

Leave a Reply

