VISITATION

YOUR VISITATION HAS PRESERVED MY SPIRIT

Job 10:12 Thou hast granted me life and favor, and thy visitation hath preserved my spirit.

Have you ever been visited by the Lord. These unexpected visits can actually be the defining moments of our lives. I had one of these in August of 1994. My spiritual focus had become blurred by the limelight of ministry. I was being blinded by that light and was totally unaware of the effect it was having on my spiritual condition. It was in that season of my life that I experienced an unexpected visitation. My ministry was in jeopardy because of my personal spiritual decline, His visitation is what preserved me, just like today’s verse describes. These visitations happen during times of spiritual awakenings. Adam Clarke ministered during the revival of the 1700’s in England. Here is his take on today’s verse.
“Thou hast granted me life and favor. Thou hast brought me from my mother’s womb; given me an actual existence among men; by thy favor or mercy thou hast provided me with the means of life; and thy visitation-thy continual providential care, has preserved me in life-has given me the air I breathe, and furnished me with those powers which enable me to respire it as an agent and preserver of life. It is by God’s continued visitation or influence that the life of any man is preserved; in him we live, move, and have our being.”
Matthew Henry ministered in the generation just before Clarke. He was part of the great seasons of awakening in Scotland. Here are his thoughts on this verse.
“That God maintains us. Having lighted the lamp of life, he does not leave it to burn upon its own stock, but continually supplies it with fresh oil: “Thy visitation has preserved my spirit, kept me alive, protected me from the adversaries of life, the death we are in the midst of and the dangers we are continually exposed to, and blessed me with all the necessary supports of life and the daily supplies it needs and craves.”
The world can take its toll on our spiritual life. It seems that we are in need of daily visitations in order for our spiritual condition to be preserved. As we start our new year it is a great time to put ourselves in a position for visitations to be more likely. Spend time daily reading His word, gather with Christians for worship and Bible Study as often as you can. As you determine to seek Him privately and corporately visitations become more common and preservation is assured.

One Reply to “VISITATION”

  1. HALLELUJAH, AMEN!!!!

    HAVE YOUR WAY JESUS/HOLY SPIRIT WITH ME ALL DAY LONG, FOREVER!
    YOUR VISITATIONS, YOUR PRESENCE, 🙂 HALLELUJAH… MORE OF YOU KING.

    🙂 🙂 🙂 PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH.
    HAVE A BLESSEDD DAY. LOVE YOU, PASTOR…

Leave a Reply

