The Desire for God

My soul yearns for you in the night.
Isa. 26:9

I often think of those early days of my Christian experience and how I got where I am today. None of it was by accident, the Lord was guiding me every step of the way. One of the first tools the Lord gave me was a desire to seek God on a daily basis. At first, it was not so much a desire but a discipline. It started as I saw the importance of daily devotions. When Parris and I arrived at Bible School back in 1973 it was late in the evening after the office had been closed. A young couple, who were also students, saw us wandering around and invited us into their home for the evening. We were able to have a meal together, a nice warm bed, and an unexpected lesson that next morning. Tony Curdo, the young Bible student, announced to us that next morning we would be having devotions together. I had no idea what he was talking about but soon found the importance of daily prayer and Bible reading. Thankfully, a life long habit was being born in my life that morning. Here are some thoughts from Andrew Murray on the importance of seeking God, especially in our daily devotions.
“What is the most worthwhile thing humankind can experience on earth? Nothing less than God Himself! And what is the first and most important thing to be done each day? It is nothing less than to seek, to know, to love, and to praise God. As glorious as God is, so is the glory that begins to work in the hearts and lives of those who give themselves to live for God.

It is a great step forward in the life of a Christian when he or she truly sees this and regards their daily fellowship with God as the most important aspect of their existence. Take time and ask yourself whether this is indeed not the most important thing around which your life should revolve—to know God and to love Him with your whole heart. This is what God desires above all else; and it is that which, in answer to your prayer, He will enable you to do. So begin this and every day of the year with the impassioned prayer of David: “O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you … in a dry and weary land” (Psalm 63:1).”
So it’s still not to late. We have just started a new year, why not start a daily Bible reading plan? I promise you will never regret it.

One thought on “The Desire for God

Leave a Reply

