Gotta Tell Somebody

1John 1:3 that which we have seen and heard we declare to you, that you also may have fellowship with us; and truly our fellowship is with the Father and with His Son Jesus Christ.

John had tasted something so profound he couldn’t keep it to himself. He had to tell others, it was impossible not to. Recently I had an experience that reminded me that we have no choice but to tell others the good news. My dad taught me to play golf as a small child. He built a golf green in our back yard when I was five years old and made a sawed off 5 iron and taught me how to use it. I have played golf most all of my life. All of those years of playing golf I had never captured that elusive prize; the hole in one. Several weeks ago Parris and I went on a vacation and I was playing golf; BY MYSELF !!! You guessed it, I scored my first hole in one. Here is where the funny part comes in. I couldn’t keep my mouth shut. I posted it on Facebook, I told the lady in the pro shop, I told the young pro, and the cart guys; I even told the lady at the concession stand. Good news is hard to keep to yourself. That brings us back to today’s scripture. John had seen some stuff. He saw Jesus walk on water, heal the blind, the deaf and the lame. He had seen Him feed thousands with a boy’s lunch. He saw Him die, witnessed the empty tomb, and saw Him several times after He had been raised from the dead. How could he keep his mouth shut, he had to tell everybody about Jesus. Here is how Murray describes this phenomenon.

“Fellowship with God is the preacher’s only source of power. If fellowship with God is the blessing of the gospel and the burden of the pastor’s preaching, then it follows that the preacher must show in his own life the possibility and blessing of such a walk with God. Experiencing it himself, he will be able to tell others about its wonder and joy, and will win them to the same happy fellowship with God. What God can do for me He can do for you. May fellowship with the Father and the Son be our daily experience—in our quiet times, in our daily work, and in our witness to others so that they, too, may share in the same glorious salvation.”
John had also been in the upper room; you know, tongues of fire and the rushing mighty wind. He had entered into life or fellowship with God. His passion in life was to share this life with the world.

4 thoughts on “Gotta Tell Somebody

  1. HALLELUJAH, PRAISE HIS HOLY NAME JESUS!!

    FIRE, INSIDE…. JUST HAVE TO LET IT OUT. NO BEING QUIET….
    JUST PRAISE HIM ALL DAY LONG. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    TIDE RISING UP INSIDE, HALLELUJAH….PRAISE OUR KING OF KINGS…
    HALLELUJAH, PASTOR FRANK!

    I Was a bowler when I was younger into tournaments, PBA regionals bowling different tournaments in differences states and can remember when I shot/bowled my first 300 game…. 🙂 Everyone knew. Amen PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH… Have a blessed and filled day in OUR KING OF KINGS, JESUS. Love you all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

