Crucified

I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live,but Christ lives in me.

Gal. 2:20

Crucifixion was a horrible way to die. You actually died of suffocation. The Romans were quite barbaric. For us today, the cross has become more of a religious symbol. We wear crosses as symbols of our faith on necklaces (I wear one). I guess I am guilty at times of looking past the power of the cross and the effect it can have on our lives. If you ask most people about Christ’s death on the cross they will speak about the forgiveness of our sins. Now don’t get me wrong, Christ’s death on the cross purchased forgiveness for us. But is there more about the cross that many are missing? I believe there is. The Bible says we ourselves were also crucified with Christ. This tells me I needed much more than forgiveness, I needed to do away with the sinner himself. I needed to die with Christ to do away with sin once and for all. Can you say with Paul, ‘I have been crucified with Christ’?. Here is how Andrew Murray describes this death.
“When Adam died spiritually, all his descendants shared his sin and died with him. The power of that sin and death still works in every one of us today. But then Christ came as the second Adam, and in His death on the cross every believer likewise has a share. We can therefore say with absolute conviction, “I have been crucified with Christ.” As the representative of His people, He took you and me to the cross with Him, and now gives us His life—the life with which He entered heaven and was exalted to the throne. The power of His death and life is active in me. As I hold fast the truth that I have been crucified with Him, and that it is no longer I, but Christ who lives in me, I receive the strength to overcome sin. The life I have received from Him is a life that has been crucified and freed from the power of sin.”
So there it is, we get forgiveness at the cross but we also receive more than that; way more. The power of sin is in the sinner himself. Forgiveness alone does not prevent future sin. The only solution, the sinner must die. So when I look to the cross and see Jesus, the last Adam, dying on it, I also see myself. I must die so that He may live in me. I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.

One thought on “Crucified

  1. HALLELUJAH, HOLY, HOLY, HOLY..

    THANK YOU, JESUS…..:)

    PRAISE OUR KING OF KINGS, LORD OF LORDS, OMEGA, ROCK AND ALPHA…

    PASTOR FRANK, HAVE A BLESSED AND FILLED DAY. LOVE YOU PASTOR. 🙂

Leave a Reply

