WHAT A CHANGE!!!

Rom. 8:5,6 For they that are after the flesh do mind the things of the flesh; but they that are after the Spirit the things of the Spirit. For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.
Several years ago I began to read some of the historic Christian preachers; men like Luther, Calvin, Edwards, and Spurgeon. Man, was I in for some major surprises. One of those amazing surprises came when I read Luther’s understanding of the fall of man. In a nutshell this is what he taught, the fall of man deeply effected our free will. He said that our ability to choose right, to make godly decisions in our life was irreparably damaged by the fall. He also said that this is where redemption comes in. It is the power of God in salvation that enables us to follow the Lord. Without divine intervention we were hopelessly doomed. Here is how A. B. Simpson described the effect of salvation on our ability to live for God.
“Just as the law of life lifts us above the law of gravitation, and the power of my will can raise my hand in spite of that physical law which makes dead matter fall to the ground, so the Holy Ghost, bringing Christ as a living presence into my heart and life, establishes a new law of feeling, thinking, choosing, and acting, and this new law lifts me above the power of sin and makes it natural for me to be holy, obedient, and Christ-like. We see the Holy Spirit operating in the mind as well as in the spirit, and we read in Romans 8:5,6, “The minding of the flesh is death, but the minding of the Spirit is life and peace.” The Holy Spirit enters the mind and disposes it to the will of God, so that we choose the things that He chooses, and think God’s thoughts after Him.”
Before God’s intervention in my life I recognized a clear struggle. I knew what was right and fully intended to do right but always fell miserably short. I thought that I alone was flawed. Christ changed all that. How did He do it? By going to the root of the problem, my will. He gave me a desire to follow Christ. He became incredibly attractive and following Him and pleasing Him became part of the package. It was no longer I who lived but Christ Who lives in me.

One thought on “WHAT A CHANGE!!!

  1. Jdhxjdjbxjdjhxhxdnnxnznzznsnsn, HALLELUJAH!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    PRAISE OUR KING OF KINGS, JESUS!!!!

    THANK YOU FATHER, JESUS, HOLY SPIRIT!!!
    ALL THINGS FRESH AND NEW THROUGH YOU!!!!
    (EVERYTHING!)
    KEEP MAKING ME, FOR YOUR GLORY KING OF KINGS, LORD OF LORDS, OMEGA, ROCK AND ALPHA… 🙂

    PASTOR FRANK, 🙂 HALLELUJAH, LOVE YOU! Have a blessed and FILLED DAY.

    WHEWHOO, HALLELUJAH

Leave a Reply

