-“Juxtaposition” or Divine Ownership

“the fact of two things being seen or placed close together with contrasting effect”
MERRY TUESDAY BY PARRIS
“He found him out in the wilderness,

In an empty, windswept wasteland.

He threw his arms around him, lavished attention on him,

Guarding him as the apple of his eye.

He was like an eagle hovering over its nest,

overshadowing its young,

Then spreading its wings, lifting them into the air,

teaching them to fly.” Debut. 32:8-12 Message

I have always been amazed how God found me. I mean why me? If there ever was a goober, I think my face would be the emoji beside it. He somehow found me and changed my loser attitude and gave me hope, purpose and just a downright overhaul. Has God thrown his arms around you? He never lets us go! Again redemption is the best thing on the planet! There is an interesting word called Juxtaposition that basically means there two contrasting effects and if you read the bible enough there are many of these. A great example is the the book of Revelations when Christ is described as the lion and the lamb! Also in {Ephesians 1:14} it says, he is the ‘earnest of our inheritance . . . unto the redemption of God’s own possession.’ In other words Christ, wins men for Himself and He counts as His. He loves me but yet owns me. Very interesting!
McPearson’s states,“First, God has a special ownership in some people. Second, God owns these people because He has given Himself to them. Third, God possesses, and is possessed by, His inheritance, that He may give and receive services of love. The men who welcome the divine love that goes through the whole world, seeking such to worship it, and to trust it, and to become its own; and who therefore lovingly yield to the loving divine will, and take it for their law-these are the men whom He regards as His ‘portion’ and ‘the lot of His inheritance.’ So that God is mine, and that ‘I am God’s,’ are two ends of one truth; ‘I possess Him,’ and ‘I am possessed by Him,’ are but the statement of one fact expressed from two points of view.”
Allowing God to possess us as we possess him is our quest! To the world, we look like we are suffering and doing without, but for me, He filled my inside and made it whole never to feel that aching dull pain of hurt again. He is teaching me to fly!

2 thoughts on “-“Juxtaposition” or Divine Ownership

  1. I was speaking with a friend the other day about how much 180 has changed our lives and how grateful we are to Pastor Paris for opening the program, renting a huge apartment, buying us shoes, books, & clothes, taking us to the movies, restaurants, & retreats, cooking for us in her home, demonstrating Christ’s love to a stiff necked hardheaded bunch of guys and even teaching us how to wash one another’s feet as Jesus did. It was refreshing to remember so many good times for which we are truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

