BRAND NEW DESIRE

One thing I ask of the LORD, this is what I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life,

to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.

Ps. 27:4

 

I used to have a friend as a young Christian that would ask the strangest questions. One of them was something like this. “If I get really close to the Lord I’m afraid He will ask me to do something that is too hard, something I don’t want to do”. We talked for hours about this and other pretty funny questions. I have to admit, neither one of us had many of the right answers back then. Today I can begin to respond to that thought, when Jesus becomes my treasure and I draw near to Him all of my desires begin to change. Actually He begins to put His desires for my life into my heart. They then become my desires and joy. What an awesome God. Here is how Andrew Murray described this reality.
“When God’s desire becomes our desire, these words also become our words: to dwell in His house, to gaze upon His beauty, and to seek Him in His temple. The more we realize God’s desire to give rest and peace in our heart, and the more our desire is quickened to dwell with Him and behold His beauty, the more the spirit of intercession will grow upon us to claim all that God has promised in His New Covenant. We will start thinking more of our church and country, home and school. We will think of saved ones and their need, or the unsaved and the dangers that threaten them. We will think of God’s desire to find His home and His rest in the hearts of men. All thoughts of our weakness and unworthiness will be swallowed up in the wonderful assurance that He gave to His children: “This is my resting place for ever and ever; here I will sit enthroned, for I have desired it” (Psalm 132:14).”
Actually, this is the answer to all of our misery. Our self absorbed lives that lead to depression and misery get swallowed up. We find ourselves in love with the Lord and passionate about His kingdom. Our hearts are filled with love for the hurting that spills over in ministry and intercession. This is the beautiful work of God. Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.

2 Replies to “BRAND NEW DESIRE”

  1. FOR SURE, HALLELUJAH, HALLELUJAH, HALLELUJAH. OUR ALMIGHTY KING OF KINGS, JESUS, THE CHANGER/TRANSFORMER OF MY LIFE! WHAT AN AWESOME/POWERFUL KING YOU ARE, AND I BELONG TO YOU! 🙂 HOLY, HOLY, HOLY!
    PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH, LOVE YOU, HAVE AN AWESOME DAY IN OUR KING! 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

