Trusting God for Daily Needs

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?
Matt. 6:25
Jesus taught us total dependency on our Heavenly Father. If you are having a hard time trusting Him, maybe struggling with fear about provision or your health, I want to give you a couple of thoughts. First think about the power of God and the sovereignty of God. He can do anything. He is the creator of galaxies and stars, and comets and black holes, and the artist who paints the sky and the sculptor who has fashioned us in His image. He was there forming us in our mother’s womb, caring for us at birth, and watching over and providing for us every day of our lives; even in our most rebellious days. Next, consider God’s love for us. His love is clearly seen in His Son Jesus. He showed His love as He fed the hungry fish and bread; His compassion was seen again as He healed the blind, the lepers, the deaf, and the maimed. Who can forget His love displayed as He healed the little boy tormented by demonic, suicidal thoughts? Then of course there is the unmistakeable taste of love as He pours His Spirit upon us. Check out how Luther describes the provision of the Lord.
“We can’t seem to let go of our anxieties and worries as long as we live. Yet God gives us everything we need hour by hour, without needing any assistance from us. So why do we keep on having foolish fears and anxieties about trivial little needs, as though God can’t or won’t supply us with food and shelter? Accordingly, Christ is plainly telling us what foolish people we are….Still, we continue to grope along in our blindness, even though it’s obvious that we’re incapable of providing for our basic needs without God. This alone should be enough to make us Christians and to keep this thought in mind: Undoubtedly, I never held in my own hands even one fleeting moment of my life. If I must trust God for my very life and limb, why should I worry about how I’m going to find nourishment from day to day?”
If God is really this powerful and that incredibly loving I have nothing to fear. He had me when I was born, He watched over me in my rebellious years, He has carried and provided for me as a Christian, and He will faithfully carry me to the end.

2 thoughts on “Trusting God for Daily Needs

  1. 1John 4:18 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.

Leave a Reply

