PRECIOUS PROMISES

The liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free.Galatians 5:1

The promises of God are precious to us. This is not just a religious cliche, His promises are valuable and can be counted on consistently in our lives. One of the mentors the Lord brought into my life was Dick Mills. He taught me to love old books, to value God’s word, and the incredible treasure God’s promises are to us. The Lord used Brother Mills to give me a “word from the Lord” from Psalm 46 when I was responding in pressure to decisions that I needed to make. This is the verse that was life changing to me,

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” Ps.46:10

That was it, I was about to make a huge mistake and this one promise birthed my ministry in New Orleans. I had to be still and wait on the Lord, during that time of waiting, my circumstances changed and an opportunity presented itself to me to return to my home in NOLA. Here are some thought from Spurgeon on the promises of God.
“This liberty makes us free to heaven’s charter-the Bible. Here is a choice passage, believer, When thou passest through the rivers, I will be with thee. You are free to that. Here is another: The mountains shall depart, and the hills be removed, but my kindness shall not depart from thee; you are free to that. You are a welcome guest at the table of the promises. Scripture is a never-failing treasury filled with boundless stores of grace. It is the bank of heaven; you may draw from it as much as you please, without let or hindrance. Come in faith and you are welcome to all covenant blessings. There is not a promise in the Word which shall be withheld. In the depths of tribulations let this freedom comfort you; amidst waves of distress let it cheer you; when sorrows surround thee let it be thy solace. This is thy Father’s love-token; thou art free to it at all times.”
Are you facing a decision making time in your life today? Don’t respond to life’s pressures, responding like that never seems to pan out very well. Look to God’s word and He will give you a promise that covers whatever circumstance you are facing. Whether it is health related, finances, family, or business; God’s promises have you covered.

3 Replies to “PRECIOUS PROMISES”

  1. Be still and wait on the Lord .Yes , God’s promises have us covered ! I do miss ” A word from the Lord “, Dick Mills , he would speak over certain people a specific word from the Bible , and that we could claim it for our lives . Dick Mills , he had the gift of knowledge , one of the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit . As for me I am learning to be still and wait on the Lord , done with making quick desisions . I need to hear from God ,” I need a word from the lord “. Learning ! Mid week service , tonight , see you there . Victory Fellowship .

  2. HALLELUJAH, ALL YOURS KING! FLOWING AND GLIDING ALL IN YOU. LEAD ME, GUIDE ME, SHOW ME, YOU IN ME AND I IN YOU!
    HALLELUJAH, HOLY, HOLY HOLY, I LOVE YOU!
    HAVE YOUR WAY FATHER, JESUS, HOLY SPIRIT!
    🙂 🙂 :).

    PASTOR FRANK, HALLELUJAH, LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

