WHY I AM ALIVE

Rom. 1:20 For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.

When I think of my college years and the search I was on I always come to the same conclusion, I was searching for a purpose. I knew I was not an accident and there was some kind of plan for my life, I needed to find it. My purpose became clear when I stepped into the light of the Son of God. Like Blind Bartimaeus, the first thing I saw when the lights turned on was the beautiful, smiling face of Jesus. As I began to look around the landscape of my life over the next few days I saw my world differently. I finally saw it! Maybe I could not have articulated it at first, but I was born to glorify God with all my life and to enjoy Him forever.

That was the beginning of my discovery of the purposes of God. Like John Piper, and many others over the last 300 years, I learned about God’s purposes from Jonathan Edwards. He taught that our reason to live was to glorify God by pursuing and living for His glory. Here are some thoughts from John Piper about our reason to exist.

“All of this amounts to the deep and inescapable realization that God made the world to communicate his glory—that is, the greatness and beauty of his manifold perfections. And he made me to experience his glory, and through this experience to glorify and thank him. I am created to magnify the glory of God—not the way a microscope magnifies (making small things look bigger than they are), but the way a telescope magnifies (making things that appear small to the world look as gigantic as they really are). And I know intuitively that thanking God is a way of glorifying him. God’s glorious beneficence is magnified in my humble, dependent, thankful witness to his goodness to me. This is confirmed in Psalm 50:23: “The one who offers thanksgiving as his sacrifice glorifies me.”
So, have you tasted this goodness for yourself? It is way different than I ever expected. It is in losing my life and identity in Christ that I gain my life and true identity. I am so grateful for that day that the Lord switched on the lights in my life, it is so good to be able to see through the fog of this world.

One Reply to “WHY I AM ALIVE”

  1. Every morning (at least for most of us) we are awakened to a new, never before quite like it, day. Routine, if no surprises, generally takes the lead. Good, bad or indifferent, honestly our actions are mostly forgettable. We have a tendency towards self gratification that is in direct opposition to our spiritual existence. I am so thankful that God interrupted and continues to actively point out, what in the past was mostly overlooked, but now have become treasures. Not the treasure that allows you to purchase, but the treasure that was made by the Greatest Purchase.

Leave a Reply

