GO AHEAD AND LAUGH

And Sarah said, God hath made me to laugh, so that all that hear will laugh with me.Genesis 21:6

Have you ever thought about why Abraham and Sarah gave their child such a weird name? Isaac means Laughter. Laughter! Really!? Why would someone do that? I guess laughter had become a huge part of both of their lives. Just think about it, Abraham was 99 years old when the Lord confirmed His promise to give Abraham a son. Oh yeah, that’s when he told Abraham to circumcise himself. OUCH!!! No wonder Abraham started laughing. He was laughing at the promise and also laughing about the circumcision thing. Shortly after that, three angels appearing as men, were talking to Abraham about the coming birth of his son. That’s when Sarah began to laugh; that was the weirdest thing to Sarah, she thought that was the funniest thing she had ever heard. How could a ninety year old, barren woman ever have a child. That’s why they named the baby laughter, laughter had been a huge part of their spiritual as well as physical renewal in their old age. God’s people have always been laughing. Here is how Spurgeon describes the laughing phenomenon also referring to John Bunyan on laughter.
“I would have all those that hear of my great deliverance from hell, and my most blessed visitation from on high, laugh for joy with me. I would surprise my family with my abundant peace; I would delight my friends with my ever-increasing happiness; I would edify the Church with my grateful confessions; and even impress the world with the cheerfulness of my daily conversation. Bunyan tells us that Mercy laughed in her sleep, and no wonder when she dreamed of Jesus; my joy shall not stop short of hers while my Beloved is the theme of my daily thoughts. The Lord Jesus is a deep sea of joy: my soul shall dive therein, shall be swallowed up in the delights of his society. Sarah looked on her Isaac, and laughed with excess of rapture, and all her friends laughed with her; and thou, my soul, look on thy Jesus, and bid heaven and earth unite in thy joy unspeakable.”
So go ahead and laugh! The Lord’s promises may seem really over the top but to those who have ears to hear they ring true. Just as Sarah said, “Everyone who hears of this birth will laugh with me”, your friends will be laughing too when they see what God has done in your life.

Leave a Reply

